You are here

Loop pedal question (boss rc3)

For all things relating to guitars, basses, amps, pedals & accessories.

Loop pedal question (boss rc3)

Postby michaelsangmang » Wed Apr 01, 2020 12:52 am

I would like to play the guitar live and record a phrase into the pedal, say the 1st verse, and then stop recording at the end of that verse WITHOUT it playing back immediately so that I can continue playing the song and wait until the 2nd verse to start that phrase playing back. At which point I will be playing a different guitar part over it.

Is this possible with the rc-3 with an extensions footpedal somehow? If not, is there a pedal that will do this for me? Thanks!
michaelsangmang
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2020 12:45 am

Re: Loop pedal question (boss rc3)

Postby Sam Spoons » Wed Apr 01, 2020 10:05 am

Yes, the extra footswitch socket let's you use two extra momentary footswitches. I have a single one connected to the ring connection to stop as I dislike the double press to stop when playing live. I believe any single momentary switch will work but you'll probably need a special cable.

WRT different pedals, The RC-30 has two footswitches as do the TC Ditto/DittoJam X2 and several others.

edit :- If you make your own footswitch (as I did) wire the switch between the ring and sleeve on the socket and any TRS-TRS lead will work.

I use my loopers for exactly the same purpose much of the time BTW.
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 12199
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Loop pedal question (boss rc3)

Postby michaelsangmang » Wed Apr 01, 2020 9:11 pm

Sam Spoons wrote:Yes, the extra footswitch socket let's you use two extra momentary footswitches. I have a single one connected to the ring connection to stop as I dislike the double press to stop when playing live. I believe any single momentary switch will work but you'll probably need a special cable.

WRT different pedals, The RC-30 has two footswitches as do the TC Ditto/DittoJam X2 and several others.

edit :- If you make your own footswitch (as I did) wire the switch between the ring and sleeve on the socket and any TRS-TRS lead will work.

I use my loopers for exactly the same purpose much of the time BTW.

Thank you very much. I'll look into that.
michaelsangmang
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2020 12:45 am

Re: Loop pedal question (boss rc3)

Postby Sam Spoons » Wed Apr 01, 2020 10:34 pm

Just to add, most (all?) looper pedals have the option to go either from record to play or record to overdub on a second press of the first footswitch so, If you want to go from recording a rhythm track straight into a lead solo (which I often do when playing Gypsy Jazz) you can set the looper up to oblige.
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 12199
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........