You are here

Pedal Order

For all things relating to guitars, basses, amps, pedals & accessories.

Pedal Order

Postby JRocker » Sun May 24, 2020 12:06 pm

Wanted to ask what was the proper order of placing guitar effect pedals. I have the following, I have read all kinds of different points of suggestion, so curious to see if there's any kind of 'right way'?

Overdrive pedal
Distortion
Noise Gate pedal
Compressor
Delay Pedal
EQ pedal
Chorus

I do know that a compressor never goes before any kind of reverb or delay pedal.
JRocker
Regular

Re: Pedal Order

Postby Dave B » Sun May 24, 2020 12:19 pm

Interesting. Whist I'm no expert, I would raise where the compressor comes in here - I thought that they typically went before the overdrive / distortion rather than after so that the signal was smoothed a bit before hitting the OD rather than levelling the OD output . I thought that the latter would potentially be more noisy.
Dave B
Jedi Poster
Veni, Vidi, Aesculi (I came, I saw, I conkered)

Postby The Elf » Sun May 24, 2020 12:26 pm

The *real* answer is that there is no 'right' way. :lol:

But if it were me...
Noise Gate
Compressor
Overdrive pedal
Distortion
EQ pedal
Chorus
Delay Pedal

Reasons?

Noise gate to clean the source up before it hits any of the pedals - you could also add another gate before the delay pedal.

Compressor to give the rest of the chain as much signal to bite on as possible.

Overdrive and distortion early, since they would mask EQ and chorus.

EQ next to massage the tone before the wet/dry mix pedals.

Chorus before delay, so that the delay is an exact repeat of the rest of the signal chain, including chorus.

Of course you could message this order around specifically to not do any of the things i've suggested above!
The Elf
Jedi Poster
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Postby Sam Spoons » Sun May 24, 2020 1:20 pm