You are here

Keith Richards on pedals.

For all things relating to guitars, basses, amps, pedals & accessories.

Keith Richards on pedals.

Postby Arpangel » Wed Sep 09, 2020 8:05 am

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0c8Kkg_Oi_4

:)
Yeah, I’m a keyboard player as you know, but I’m also an occasional guitarist, actually, the word "occasional" is probably a bit OTT TBQH.
You also probably know I love effects, and pedals, but only on keyboards.
There’s nothing more enjoyable for me personally than to sit down with just a really good amp, something like a Messa Booogie or a big old Fender, and just go mental trying out the controls on the amp, I never use pedals.
My favourite amps are Fenders, like a Dual Showman, I had a massive Yamaha bass amp once, that was totally mad, and amazing. My friend has an early Messa Boogie combo that’s obscenely dirty, and you can only really play it loud, he also has a Roland JC120, a bit too clean for me.
I just love freaking out with them, I can’t play guitar at all, but I love the noises I get sometimes, and they’ve come in useful for providing a central core on certain tracks I’ve done.
I’ve never been tempted to use pedals, I think it’s because of all the faffing about, I just can’t be bothered, it takes away from the immediacy of just picking up a guitar and playing, that’s what it’s all about for me, a complete contrast from the complex world of keyboards etc etc.
Arpangel
Jedi Poster

Re: Keith Richards on pedals.

Postby BigRedX » Thu Sep 10, 2020 9:51 am

And for me the guitar is just another sound source that requires a different playing technique to the keyboard.
BigRedX
Frequent Poster
RockinRollin' VampireMan

Postby Arpangel » Thu Sep 10, 2020 10:13 am

BigRedX wrote:And for me the guitar is just another sound source that requires a different playing technique to the keyboard.

I wouldn’t know about that, playing technique?

Arpangel
Jedi Poster

Postby BigRedX » Thu Sep 10, 2020 12:37 pm