You are here

Can’t find a forest Gnome!

For fans of synths, pianos or keyboard instruments of any sort.

Can’t find a forest Gnome!

Postby IAA » Sat Mar 23, 2019 9:09 am

I know, I know....
But I was searching for the original Alchemy synth preset which I think was called, “a forest gnome dancing”

So the question is where is he?

Was it renamed or, and this is a possibility, has he finished dancing and gone forever?

:roll:
IAA
Regular
Posts: 407
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 1:00 am

Re: Can’t find a forest Gnome!

Postby BJG145 » Sat Mar 23, 2019 9:49 am

Its original location would have been in Presets/Factory/Arpeggiated where it's one of five 17K files; 17,320 bytes.
User avatar
BJG145
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 3968
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 12:00 am

Re: Can’t find a forest Gnome!

Postby IAA » Sat Mar 23, 2019 1:18 pm

did he survive the transition to Apple’s version of Alchemy?
IAA
Regular
Posts: 407
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 1:00 am

Re: Can’t find a forest Gnome!

Postby BJG145 » Sat Mar 23, 2019 2:17 pm

I'm sure it would have been there originally, and if you simply renamed it, I'd have thought it would still be possible to narrow it down by file size. Sorting that folder by file size on a PC, it's number 22, between "Tangerine Arp" and "Polynesian Arp Morph".
User avatar
BJG145
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 3968
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 12:00 am

Re: Can’t find a forest Gnome!

Postby desmond » Sat Mar 23, 2019 2:18 pm

I don't think so, at least not with that name...

You can still of course load all the old legacy patches, if you had the previous version - it works fine. So the gnome can keep on dancing in LPX...
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9047
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio

Re: Can’t find a forest Gnome!

Postby BJG145 » Sat Mar 23, 2019 2:23 pm

*edit*

...oh, I hadn't realised Apple had taken it over. Looks like it'll cost you unless you have the original.

See here:

ALL of my original patches I created for the Camel Audio version of Alchemy are in this PowerPack. Patch #1 when you call up Alchemy was a patch called “A Forest Gnome Dancing”. That was one of over 30 patches created by yours truly. I didn’t sell them to Apple (they asked) so this is the 1st time they are available for Alchemy!
User avatar
BJG145
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 3968
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 12:00 am

Re: Can’t find a forest Gnome!

Postby Wonks » Sat Mar 23, 2019 2:27 pm

Closed back in 2015 IIRC, bought by Apple, who then reintroduced it as part of Logic Pro X in one of the major version upgrades.

I've got the Gnome patch on my free version of Camel Audio Alchemy.
User avatar
Wonks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10414
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Reading, UK
Correcting mistakes on the internet since 1853

Re: Can’t find a forest Gnome!

Postby Martin Walker » Sat Mar 23, 2019 3:20 pm

BJG145 wrote:*edit*

...oh, I hadn't realised Apple had taken it over. Looks like it'll cost you unless you have the original.

See here:

ALL of my original patches I created for the Camel Audio version of Alchemy are in this PowerPack. Patch #1 when you call up Alchemy was a patch called “A Forest Gnome Dancing”. That was one of over 30 patches created by yours truly. I didn’t sell them to Apple (they asked) so this is the 1st time they are available for Alchemy!

Well I never did! Skippy didn't accept the buyout :o


Martin
User avatar
Martin Walker
Moderator
Posts: 14822
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 9:44 am
Location: Cornwall, UK

Re: Can’t find a forest Gnome!

Postby IAA » Sat Mar 23, 2019 4:44 pm

Thanks all, I have the original Camel version somewhere so will reload - fingers crossed it’s 64 bit and Logic still likes it.

I really loved that preset- I messed about with it for a song I did and want to re-record it. Shows how powerful Alchemy was.

He will dance again! :mrgreen:
Ian
IAA
Regular
Posts: 407
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 1:00 am

Re: Can’t find a forest Gnome!

Postby desmond » Sat Mar 23, 2019 5:13 pm

IAA wrote:Thanks all, I have the original Camel version somewhere so will reload - fingers crossed it’s 64 bit and Logic still likes it.

I was just playing it in LPX Alchemy - as I said, it works fine.
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9047
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio

Re: Can’t find a forest Gnome!

Postby IAA » Sat Mar 23, 2019 6:22 pm

Thanks for that Desmond.
IAA
Regular
Posts: 407
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 1:00 am

Re: Can’t find a forest Gnome!

Postby IAA » Sat Dec 14, 2019 3:50 pm

Desmond,

I found the files and old libraries I had on my old Imac but can't figure out how to get the new version of Alchemy to see them. I have moved the Application Support/camel Audio/Alchemy/Libraries (and presets ad samples( into my studio Mac and even after refreshing Alchemy in Logic I still can't see the legacy libraries - I must be putting them in the wrong file location>?
Any help appreciated!! :bouncy:
IAA
Regular
Posts: 407
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 1:00 am

Re: Can’t find a forest Gnome!

Postby IAA » Sat Dec 14, 2019 4:01 pm

Got them Desmond - my sloppy copying!! :headbang: :headbang: :headbang:
IAA
Regular
Posts: 407
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 1:00 am


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users