You are here

tamaha tg33

For fans of synths, pianos or keyboard instruments of any sort.

tamaha tg33

Postby tc99 » Sat Jul 11, 2009 4:01 pm

will the tg33 still function (ie play the preset banks) even if there is no card in the back?
tc99
Regular
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 12:00 am
 

Re: tamaha tg33

Postby Paul Nagle » Sat Jul 11, 2009 5:54 pm

Sure.
User avatar
Paul Nagle
Regular
Posts: 148
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Lancs
http://www.bogusfocus.com/

Re: tamaha tg33

Postby tc99 » Sat Jul 11, 2009 7:12 pm

thanks paul
tc99
Regular
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 12:00 am
 

Re: tamaha tg33

Postby Paul Nagle » Sun Jul 12, 2009 8:06 am

No worries. Always rather liked the TG33 (and SY22) as there was something simple yet charming about them.
User avatar
Paul Nagle
Regular
Posts: 148
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Lancs
http://www.bogusfocus.com/

Re: tamaha tg33

Postby Alan Shields » Sun Jul 12, 2009 6:57 pm

tc99 wrote:will the tg33 still function (ie play the preset banks) even if there is no card in the back?

Yes, mine does perfectly well.

And I agree that this is a much underestimated little module

Alan
Alan Shields
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 1:00 am
Location: Co. Kildare, Ireland

Re: tamaha tg33

Postby dubbmann » Sun Jul 12, 2009 9:08 pm

hi,

+1 (well, +2 as i have two of them) for the tg33/sy22. this is a massive synth that is going for peanuts used (got my 2nd for $65). it has a tremendous pedigree, being a cousin of the korg wavestation and like the wavestation both were descended from sequential circuit's prophet vs (and if you carry its pedigree further, the waldorf wave).

btw, a lot of people don't understand the importance of engaging the button labelled 'vector'. w/o this, the x/y track ball doesn't do anything, which is the whole point of the vector synthesis ideas that sequential pioneered w/t vs.

a wonderful synth, in short. btw, the SOS series on history of korg, yamaha, etc gives the back story in more detail and are superbly written.

cheers,

d
User avatar
dubbmann
Frequent Poster
Posts: 862
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 1:00 am
Location: 3rd stone from the sun.
http://www.thinkbluecounttwo.com/ http://www.phichibe.com

Re: tamaha tg33

Postby tc99 » Thu Jul 16, 2009 5:47 pm

hi

thanks for the replys.
i just bought one off ebay (soon after my orginal post) for 45 quid. am looking foward to it a lot.

i'll keep an eye out for the vector button
tc99
Regular
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 12:00 am
 

Re: tamaha tg33

Postby Mr Spanky » Thu Jul 16, 2009 6:41 pm

They go for peanuts here in Japan. I think I could probably get hold of one for about 30 quid. It looks a bit hard to edit the voices though.

The examples of the preset banks I've heard don't do it justice, I reckon. Could be a lot of tweaking fun to be had for not much money.
Mr Spanky
Regular
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2003 1:00 am

Re: tamaha tg33

Postby tc99 » Fri Jul 17, 2009 3:51 pm

can anyone recommend any resources for the tg33 on the net, especially for patches and any editors. i found one editor, i think was called SoundQuest, but it's quite expensive
tc99
Regular
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 12:00 am
 

Re: tamaha tg33

Postby Rich Hanson » Fri Jul 17, 2009 7:46 pm

I wrote an editor for the SY22 and SY35 and it should work okay with the TG33, and what's more it's free!

http://www.plompy.co.uk/software

It runs on Windows and there's even a version for the venerable Atari ST!

There are is a of bug where it won't load a SYX file, but the actual editing works okay. Unfortunately I no longer have the compiler so I can't fix the bug.
User avatar
Rich Hanson
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1464
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 12:00 am
Location: UK

Re: tamaha tg33

Postby tc99 » Sat Jul 18, 2009 6:35 pm

rich

thankyou - that looks really great. i will be sure to try it out.
tc99
Regular
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 12:00 am
 

Re: tamaha tg33

Postby Rich Hanson » Sun Jul 19, 2009 7:57 am

Hope you enjoy using it - there is so much more than can be edited through SysEx than on the front panel.

Hopefully at some point over the next few days I will post the source code so if someone wants to fix the bugs, they can. (Borland C++ Builder, but I forget which version).
User avatar
Rich Hanson
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1464
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 12:00 am
Location: UK


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users