You are here

Mopho and Axiom49 problems

For fans of synths, pianos or keyboard instruments of any sort.

Mopho and Axiom49 problems

Postby macmurphy » Tue Jan 12, 2010 7:27 pm

I have my Axiom programmed to control my Mopho using NRPNs.
I use different presets on the Axiom to control the different sections of the Mopho, e.g preset 1 for Oscillators, 2 for VCA envelope, 3 for filter/envelope etc.
The problem i've run into is that when i change the preset on the Axiom the Mopho changes to Program 1. Obviously the Axiom is sending a program change message when i change the preset - does anyone know any way of preventing this?
Thanks in advance for any help!

Neil
User avatar
macmurphy
Poster
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 12:00 am

Re: Mopho and Axiom49 problems

Postby Matt_Moose » Tue Jan 12, 2010 8:36 pm

just had a quick look in my Ax-61 manual, and think you need to have a read up on the use of the "Mute" and "Null" buttons.
User avatar
Matt_Moose
Regular
Posts: 300
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Cheshire

Hammond M162, XM1. Yahama CP70B, PF2000, P200, P50m, QY100. Roland RD1000, JV1010. Alesis SR16.


Re: Mopho and Axiom49 problems

Postby macmurphy » Tue Jan 12, 2010 8:55 pm

Thanks for the reply, Matt.
I've tried using the Null and Mute functions as described, but no joy :?
User avatar
macmurphy
Poster
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 12:00 am

Re: Mopho and Axiom49 problems

Postby Matt_Moose » Wed Jan 13, 2010 10:56 am

OK - next step, put some kind of midi monitor on a track in your DAW and see what the Axiom is actually sending when you call up the presets.

It'll at least confirm what you know that some program change is going thru, but it might tell you some other info on how you might be able to side-step it - like setting it to use a different channel or something.

I tend to have the Null button lit all the time and I can't remember having the same problem, but then I don't send many program changes. Or rather, when I do, I do it at the start of every midi track in Reaper, so I know I'm getting the right patch immediately before it kicks in - I don't care what happens before that :)
User avatar
Matt_Moose
Regular
Posts: 300
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Cheshire

Hammond M162, XM1. Yahama CP70B, PF2000, P200, P50m, QY100. Roland RD1000, JV1010. Alesis SR16.


Re: Mopho and Axiom49 problems

Postby macmurphy » Wed Jan 13, 2010 5:48 pm

Right. It seems it's a bank change message rather than a program change the axiom is sending. I'll just have to filter out cc32 in midi-ox and look into getting a hardware filter. I was thinking about one of these- MIDI Solutions Event Processor. It can be programmed to do much of what midi-ox does, but of course once set up it isn't dependent on a computer.
User avatar
macmurphy
Poster
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 12:00 am

Re: Mopho and Axiom49 problems

Postby Matt_Moose » Wed Jan 13, 2010 9:46 pm

sounds a bit random. Does it do that for all preset changes? Or is it just one preset that you change to that has the (same) bank change on it? Or alternatively, yes, you could filter out cc32 - but seems a bit of a faff.
User avatar
Matt_Moose
Regular
Posts: 300
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Cheshire

Hammond M162, XM1. Yahama CP70B, PF2000, P200, P50m, QY100. Roland RD1000, JV1010. Alesis SR16.


Re: Mopho and Axiom49 problems

Postby macmurphy » Thu Jan 14, 2010 7:49 am

It does the same with all preset changes. I wish there was a simpler, more elegant way round this but it has me stumped. Midi-ox is great for things like this but i don't want to have to turn on my computer every time i want to play my synth!
User avatar
macmurphy
Poster
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 12:00 am

Re: Mopho and Axiom49 problems

Postby Matt_Moose » Thu Jan 14, 2010 10:24 am

FWIW, just fired up my kit and it does exactly the same! So another M-audio quirk...

Although have gone back to the manual and section 3.6.6 is about Zones and the last sent program change/MSB/LSB being saved for each zone and in each preset. So it seems the presets are saving them, and (in section 3.2.1 about Zones) it seems that it's ZoneA that saves them??

Another possible (clunky) work around there somewhere?
User avatar
Matt_Moose
Regular
Posts: 300
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Cheshire

Hammond M162, XM1. Yahama CP70B, PF2000, P200, P50m, QY100. Roland RD1000, JV1010. Alesis SR16.


Re: Mopho and Axiom49 problems

Postby macmurphy » Thu Jan 14, 2010 12:58 pm

Quirks quirks quirks! Maybe i need a quirk filter. I'll take a long hard look at the manual and see if i can work something out.
Thanks for your on-going help Matt.
User avatar
macmurphy
Poster
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 12:00 am

Re: Mopho and Axiom49 problems

Postby Matt_Moose » Thu Jan 14, 2010 2:26 pm

I'm just grateful for a thread that I know enough about to contribute to! :) Let us know if you sort something, cos chances are I could get stuffed by this in the future.
User avatar
Matt_Moose
Regular
Posts: 300
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Cheshire

Hammond M162, XM1. Yahama CP70B, PF2000, P200, P50m, QY100. Roland RD1000, JV1010. Alesis SR16.


Re: Mopho and Axiom49 problems

Postby macmurphy » Thu Jan 14, 2010 9:05 pm

Well... it looks like i'll be getting that midi filter.
I just can't find a way of stopping the damn axiom of sending those program/bank change messages.
I'm willing to bet though that when the filter turns up and i have it set up i'll either figure it out or someone will enlighten me... :smirk:
User avatar
macmurphy
Poster
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 12:00 am

Re: Mopho and Axiom49 problems

Postby macmurphy » Tue Jan 19, 2010 8:01 am

Well i got the event processor programmed and installed and it works like a charm. It can do a lot of stuff to midi signals so it's going to be interesting to experiment. But for now i'm just glad it's solved my problem :)
User avatar
macmurphy
Poster
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 12:00 am

Re: Mopho and Axiom49 problems

Postby Matt_Moose » Tue Jan 19, 2010 9:03 am

Glad that's all sorted - shame it's almost sledgehammer to crack a nut because of an otherwise good midi controller.
User avatar
Matt_Moose
Regular
Posts: 300
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Cheshire

Hammond M162, XM1. Yahama CP70B, PF2000, P200, P50m, QY100. Roland RD1000, JV1010. Alesis SR16.


Re: Mopho and Axiom49 problems

Postby macmurphy » Tue Jan 19, 2010 1:03 pm

Yep, i agree. There's a guy on KVR i've been chatting to about the same thing and he was having similar problems with his Novation controller, so it seems it's not only an M-Audio thing.
User avatar
macmurphy
Poster
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 12:00 am