You are here

Power Supply for an SH-101???

For fans of synths, pianos or keyboard instruments of any sort.

Power Supply for an SH-101???

Postby Kolakube » Thu Mar 04, 2010 8:55 am

Hi guys,

Looking for a 101 powersupply. Might buy a 101 of Ebay that doesn't have one.

What do I need?
User avatar
Kolakube
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1420
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 1:00 am
Location: Geordieland

Re: Power Supply for an SH-101???

Postby Dave B » Thu Mar 04, 2010 9:05 am

You do know that it runs on batteries right? Some rechargables might be a cool idea.
User avatar
Dave B
Jedi Poster
Posts: 5412
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Maidenhead
Veni, Vidi, Aesculi (I came, I saw, I conkered)

Re: Power Supply for an SH-101???

Postby Kolakube » Thu Mar 04, 2010 11:55 am

Hi dave.

Yeah I know it runs on batteries mate like all of the Roland toy range did. Makes me laugh to think these high level toys became responsible for most of the dance music culture in the 80's and 90's and still now to some extent.

Im after a PSU. Cant be bothered with batteries running out all the time etc
User avatar
Kolakube
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1420
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 1:00 am
Location: Geordieland


Re: Power Supply for an SH-101???

Postby fay spook » Thu Mar 04, 2010 12:22 pm

Batteries could be a good idea because 101s often hum when used with a Roland/Boss wall wart.
fay spook
Regular
Posts: 274
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 12:00 am

Re: Power Supply for an SH-101???

Postby Kolakube » Thu Mar 04, 2010 6:43 pm

jerrog.

sold out mate :{
User avatar
Kolakube
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1420
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 1:00 am
Location: Geordieland

Re: Power Supply for an SH-101???

Postby ewe » Thu Mar 04, 2010 9:47 pm

You just need a 9-12V negative tip adapter. I think 500mA. Should be very easy to find, just make sure it has the right specs.
User avatar
ewe
Regular
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 1:00 am

Re: Power Supply for an SH-101???

Postby Kolakube » Thu Mar 04, 2010 10:24 pm

Thanks mate. Thats the info I needed.

Ive got a 9v adapter powering my JSQ-60 also by roland around a similar time. Wonder if that will do?
User avatar
Kolakube
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1420
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 1:00 am
Location: Geordieland

Re: Power Supply for an SH-101???

Postby Captain Waves » Sat Mar 06, 2010 11:31 pm

Yeah probably, you may need to reverse the polarity. I used a basic Dixons / Tandy/ 9v adapter for about 12 years with my SH101 without any problems. I never had a Roland adapter.
User avatar
Captain Waves
Regular
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2001 12:00 am

Re: Power Supply for an SH-101???

Postby Kolakube » Sat Mar 06, 2010 11:40 pm

The same guy who jeero linked too above had many MC202 adaptors.

Turns out there the same things so I go on.

Thank for everyones help
User avatar
Kolakube
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1420
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 1:00 am
Location: Geordieland