You are here

No sound from JD-XA

For fans of synths, pianos or keyboard instruments of any sort.

No sound from JD-XA

Postby Nabdone69 » Thu Mar 08, 2018 4:26 pm

Hi, I bought a Roland JD-XA one week ago but I have no idea how to get a sound from it. I'm completely new to this kind of keyboard, so I may have connected it wrongly. Fruity loops recognises it, but I want to play it as a standalone Synth. I've just been staring at its lovelyness for a whole week. Please help
Nabdone69
Poster
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 10:22 pm

Re: No sound from JD-XA

Postby Dave B » Thu Mar 08, 2018 7:58 pm

How have you connected it up so far?

The simples thing to do, to start off with, is to power it up and plug some headphones in and then go through the on board patches.

What equipment do you want to connect it to?
User avatar
Dave B
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4736
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Maidenhead
Veni, Vidi, Aesculi (I came, I saw, I conkered)

Re: No sound from JD-XA

Postby Nabdone69 » Thu Mar 08, 2018 8:47 pm

Hi, thank you so much for your reply. I'm connected to my PC via the USB Computer which is connected to a USB2 slot.
Nabdone69
Poster
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 10:22 pm

Re: No sound from JD-XA

Postby Nabdone69 » Thu Mar 08, 2018 8:53 pm

I just want to connect it to my PC, so I can record my playing.
Nabdone69
Poster
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 10:22 pm

Re: No sound from JD-XA

Postby Dave B » Fri Mar 09, 2018 2:54 pm

OK, so your JDXA can send audio over the usb connection as well as midi. So you need to route that audio through whatever you use to get the audio out of your PC. Do you have an audio interface as well? How do you listen to the output from the computer?

If you tell us what equipment you have, we can try and help show you the best way to hook it all up
User avatar
Dave B
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4736
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Maidenhead
Veni, Vidi, Aesculi (I came, I saw, I conkered)

Re: No sound from JD-XA

Postby Nabdone69 » Fri Mar 09, 2018 3:41 pm

Hi again, after trying your suggestion to plug in headphones into the jdxa, I was so pleased to finally hear what it can do. At the moment, I have the jdxa connected to my pc via the 'usb computer' input to a usb 2 slot on my pc. I have speakers connected to my creative sound blaster soundcard, but still no sound from the jdxa...
Nabdone69
Poster
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 10:22 pm

Re: No sound from JD-XA

Postby Nabdone69 » Fri Mar 09, 2018 3:44 pm

Should I use the usb computer jack aswell as the midi jacks on the jdxa, or should it be one or the other?
Nabdone69
Poster
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 10:22 pm

Re: No sound from JD-XA

Postby Nabdone69 » Fri Mar 09, 2018 3:46 pm

I have no other equipment apart from my pc and the jdxa
Nabdone69
Poster
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 10:22 pm

Re: No sound from JD-XA

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Fri Mar 09, 2018 4:14 pm

Try a right click on the speaker symbol down in the task bar of your PC and select Recording Devices. Then find and select the USB input from your keyboard as an input source to your computer's sound card.

Hopefully, you'll then be able to hear it via your computer speakers.

Better still, use an audio editing/mixing program with the USB keyboard input selected as an input source to a stereo channel, and the mixer output routed to your computer speakers. That way you'll have more control, and will be able to record your performances.

H
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 21946
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound

Re: No sound from JD-XA

Postby Chevytraveller » Fri Mar 09, 2018 6:38 pm

Have you installed the audio drivers for the JDXA?..


:bouncy:
User avatar
Chevytraveller
Frequent Poster
Posts: 897
Joined: Sat May 13, 2000 12:00 am
Location: Hastings
Soft: MBP 15", X-Station, LogicX, Mainstage 3, Korg legacy, Diva, Alchemy, Hard: Emulator II, E-Synth, Roland Promars, Obie TVS-1, Waldorf Q, AS Telemark,  Eurocrack disease

Re: No sound from JD-XA

Postby Nabdone69 » Fri Mar 09, 2018 11:15 pm

I tried right clicking the speaker icon in taskbar, it showed the jdxa as the default recording device, but still no sound. Yes I have the latest drivers for the jdxa and windows. Could you suggest an audio/mixing program I could use. This is making me very sad...
Nabdone69
Poster
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 10:22 pm

Re: No sound from JD-XA

Postby Nabdone69 » Sat Mar 10, 2018 6:23 pm

Hello, is there anybody out there?
Nabdone69
Poster
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 10:22 pm

Re: No sound from JD-XA

Postby Nabdone69 » Sat Mar 10, 2018 6:24 pm

All I want to know is how to wire up the jdxa to my pc so that I can hear it through my pc speakers
Nabdone69
Poster
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 10:22 pm

Re: No sound from JD-XA

Postby The Elf » Sat Mar 10, 2018 7:27 pm

Really, you need to plug the audio outputs of the JDXA into an amp/speakers.

If you want to record the audio from your JDXA then you would need to select its ASIO drivers in a DAW. If you do that then all of the audio will run in/out to/from the JDXA - not the computer's speakers.
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11567
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: No sound from JD-XA

Postby Nabdone69 » Mon Mar 12, 2018 6:15 am

Thanks, I have no idea how to put your suggestion into practice. I feel like such a nerd. Any chance you could break it down to a step by step instruction?
Nabdone69
Poster
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 10:22 pm

Re: No sound from JD-XA

Postby Nabdone69 » Mon Mar 12, 2018 6:22 am

I have... One Roland JD-XA....
I have ...One PC
How to connect them both, so I hear the JD-XA from my PC speakers
and be able to record my playing
Nabdone69
Poster
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 10:22 pm

Re: No sound from JD-XA

Postby The Elf » Mon Mar 12, 2018 8:33 am

You cannot have the JDXA as your USB ASIO audio device *and* hear it through the computer. Sorry - it just doesn't work that way. You need to either use the JDXA's headphone output, or, more usefully, connect the L/R audio outputs of the JDXA to an amp and speakers.

If your computer has separate external speakers then you might be able to connect the JDXA to those with some bodgery, but I suspect you're meaning the computer's internal speaker?
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11567
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: No sound from JD-XA

Postby The Elf » Mon Mar 12, 2018 9:31 am

Phew! Last post typed in a rush before I went to dentist!...

There is a way you could do this, but it is also bodgery. What you would do is connect the JDXA's audio outputs to the computer's audio inputs. You would need to be careful with levels (most PCs only sport a microphone input as standard), you would need to sort out the computer's mixer to make sure the right thing are routed to the right place, you would need some dubious connecting cables, it might not actually work and... it would sound awful anyway.

Far better to get hold of an old hifi amp and speakers and connect the JDXA to that. You'll get far better sound, simple connection and avoid the bodges.
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11567
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: No sound from JD-XA

Postby Wonks » Mon Mar 12, 2018 9:59 am

Or buy a powered/active PA speaker (or two if you really need stereo) with basic tone controls built-in (or an active speaker without tone controls and a small mixer). More useful than an old hi-fi amp and speakers if you ever plan on playing live, though a hi-fi amp and speakers are fine if you never plan to play outside your home.
User avatar
Wonks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 6395
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Reading, UK
Now even grumpier than Ivan in his heyday.

Re: No sound from JD-XA

Postby The Elf » Mon Mar 12, 2018 2:11 pm

Where are based? There’s maybe someone who is local to you that could nip over and get you up and running.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11567
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users