You are here

Pianist looking to get piano-synth combi - Montage 8?

For fans of synths, pianos or keyboard instruments of any sort.

Pianist looking to get piano-synth combi - Montage 8?

Postby mitya33 » Sat Sep 01, 2018 11:51 am

Hi all

First-time poster, total noob, go easy...

I'm a classical pianist with a strong love for electronic music. With this in mind I'm considering upgrading my 20 year-old electric piano.

In my local music tech store I came across the Yamaha Montage 8. It's an amazing thing, and I barely scratched the surface in the hour or so I had with it. I later found out, though, that this is basically the bees' knees (one review said it might be the best synth ever made.)

With this in mind, is it too advanced for someone just starting out in electronic music production? I like it because it's a synth-piano combi, by which I mean it has a full piano keyboard with weighted keys. That's key for me - I'm not after a synth with non-piano-style keys. I'm a pianist first and foremost.

Or would I be better just getting a piano and doing the electronic stuff on my PC rather than on musical hardware?

Thanks in advance!
mitya33
Poster

Re: Pianist looking to get piano-synth combi - Montage 8?

Postby blinddrew » Sat Sep 01, 2018 2:48 pm

mitya33 wrote:Or would I be better just getting a piano and doing the electronic stuff on my PC rather than on musical hardware?
I suspect that's a debate that could run as long as the PC vs MAC one... :D
My tuppence (and bear in mind I'm really not a synth man) is that it will entirely depend on what you want to do and how you work.
Software synths obviously give you a huge range of potential sounds and effects for potentially a fraction of the cost, but they don't have the same ability to come up with something magical whilst just playing around and twiddling knobs.

Oh, and welcome to the forums. :)
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...