You are here

Nord Stage 3 as synthesiser vs. competition?

For fans of synths, pianos or keyboard instruments of any sort.

Nord Stage 3 as synthesiser vs. competition?

Postby mitya33 » Sun Sep 09, 2018 11:36 am

Hi all

I'm currently trying to choose between the Montage 8, Korg Kronos and Nord Stage 3.

I'm a pianist primarily but want to get into making electronic music too.

It's clear the Montage/Kronos can make just about every sound under the sun, as that's their speciality, but from what I understand the Stage 3 has much more emphasis on pianos and organs, with a "to some extent" synthesiser thrown in as well.

My question is, if I went for the Stage 3, how much would I be losing in the synth side of things vs. what I'd have got with the Kronos or Montage?

I've read the Sound on Sound reviews of all of these, but it's hard for me to understand as I'm very new to this and so much of the terminology is lost on me. If anyone can give me an idea in layman's terms that would be great!

Thanks so much in advance.
mitya33
Poster

Re: Nord Stage 3 as synthesiser vs. competition?

Postby Dave B » Sun Sep 09, 2018 1:33 pm

My question is, if I went for the Stage 3, how much would I be losing in the synth side of things vs. what I'd have got with the Kronos or Montage?