You are here

Korg Kronos - too much for noob?

For fans of synths, pianos or keyboard instruments of any sort.

Korg Kronos - too much for noob?

Postby mitya33 » Sun Sep 09, 2018 10:02 pm

Hi all

Currently deciding between the above and the Nord Stage 3 for piano work primarily and getting into making electronic music secondarily.

The Kronos seems to do everything but at the cost of being user friendly. It seems fiendishly comex; would anyone confirm or deny this suspicion? How long do you think it might take of learning before I started to get some mileage out of it?

I'm totally new to synthesis and synthesisers, so assume nothing!

Thanks in advance, Kronos users.
mitya33
Poster

Re: Korg Kronos - too much for noob?

Postby desmond » Sun Sep 09, 2018 10:08 pm

Generally, if you want more features, the unit is going to be necessarily more complex.

As you want this to be a do-everything tool, then having a lot of features makes sense, and you'll have to learn how to drive it. The alternative is having less features, but needing to rely on other gear, or a DAW, to take up the slack and do the things the keyboard cannot.
desmond
Jedi Poster

Postby Dave B » Mon Sep 10, 2018 7:10 am

So breaking down your request :

a) is it complex? Yes. But not overly so - many would say that Kurzweils are more implacable and the Korg user interface has been this way for .. oooh ... 20 something years now so it shouldn't be a shock to all but the newest of newbies.

b) how long before you get something useable out of it? Probably an afternoon to a couple of days to get things running. To learn everything would take a while - if you are starting from scratch, there's a lot to learn. But if you absorb it all, there's almost nothing about synthesis that you couldn't tackle.