You are here

Korg Kronos - too much for noob?

For fans of synths, pianos or keyboard instruments of any sort.

Korg Kronos - too much for noob?

Postby mitya33 » Sun Sep 09, 2018 11:02 pm

Hi all

Currently deciding between the above and the Nord Stage 3 for piano work primarily and getting into making electronic music secondarily.

The Kronos seems to do everything but at the cost of being user friendly. It seems fiendishly comex; would anyone confirm or deny this suspicion? How long do you think it might take of learning before I started to get some mileage out of it?

I'm totally new to synthesis and synthesisers, so assume nothing!

Thanks in advance, Kronos users.
mitya33
Poster
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2018 11:50 am

Re: Korg Kronos - too much for noob?

Postby desmond » Sun Sep 09, 2018 11:08 pm

Generally, if you want more features, the unit is going to be necessarily more complex.

As you want this to be a do-everything tool, then having a lot of features makes sense, and you'll have to learn how to drive it. The alternative is having less features, but needing to rely on other gear, or a DAW, to take up the slack and do the things the keyboard cannot.
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9123
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio

Re: Korg Kronos - too much for noob?

Postby Dave B » Mon Sep 10, 2018 8:10 am

So breaking down your request :

a) is it complex? Yes. But not overly so - many would say that Kurzweils are more implacable and the Korg user interface has been this way for .. oooh ... 20 something years now so it shouldn't be a shock to all but the newest of newbies.

b) how long before you get something useable out of it? Probably an afternoon to a couple of days to get things running. To learn everything would take a while - if you are starting from scratch, there's a lot to learn. But if you absorb it all, there's almost nothing about synthesis that you couldn't tackle.

It's like everything - if you want lots of options and power, then you need to put in the time to do it. I'm not convinced that starting with a hyper powerful machine is the best way for you, but you seem committed to that approach. Me? I'd start with a DAW and some simple synth plugins to learn on. Or get a decent new analogue synth and explore that - layering it in a simple DAW. But hey ho ...
User avatar
Dave B
Jedi Poster
Posts: 5414
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Maidenhead
Veni, Vidi, Aesculi (I came, I saw, I conkered)

Re: Korg Kronos - too much for noob?

Postby mitya33 » Mon Sep 10, 2018 11:02 am

Thanks guys for the replies.

I'm not so much committed to a complex piece of kit as merely trying to satisfy my rather particular (and arguably incompatible) set of criteria, which is that it must perform as a quality piano first and be a good synth second so I can get into composing electronical music. And third, I'm trying to avoid PC screens and so do my music making at the instrucment, since I'm at the PC all day anyway for my job.

I'm finding myself drawn to the Kronos for its "do everything on me" approach and the Nord Stage for its... Well, I just tried it and really liked it. Plus I like the immediacy of affecting the sound with those rotaries. But the synth is much shallower in terms of complexity, which some have pointed out that, for a noob, could be a plus, can always add more gear later. Whereas the Kronos seems a bit like "buy me and you'll sever need to buy anything ever again."

Continued thanks!
mitya33
Poster
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2018 11:50 am

Re: Korg Kronos - too much for noob?

Postby IAA » Mon Sep 10, 2018 12:13 pm

It’s certainly a dilemma - my view is that the Kronos is intuitive if you want to select presets and modify those sounds, even sequencing at a basic level - midi tracks and audio is not that difficult. However it’s got loads more to give and that will take time, but there is a great community over at korg forums.com.

I’m predominantly a pianist with a love for synthesis and I think the Kronos pianos are fantastic and I use them all the time even above some high end sample libraries in my DAW.

i can’t imagine ever running out of options with the Kronos, it’s not for everyone but it’s the backbone of my studio and my songwriting. Sometimes it’s great to sketch a piece using the sequencer and develop in the DAW later.

I like the RH3 action on the 88 note, some don’t, but that’s a very personal thing for a pianist. You’ll know pretty quickly if you can demo it.

The additional libraries of sounds from the korg shop are an easy way to expand if you don’t fancy sampling yourself although I’ve had great results sampling my minimoog and mellotron into it.. :D

Good luck either way..


Ian
IAA
Regular
Posts: 443
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 1:00 am

Re: Korg Kronos - too much for noob?

Postby BobTheDog » Sun Sep 30, 2018 7:52 am

If you want to get away from the PC and you want to record what you play then you probably need a workstation of some kind.

The Nord doesn’t have this ability.

The Kronos does, with the Kronos you could record an entire song. You can even attach a CD burner to it and create an audio CD containing your songs.

The Kronos can also record audio, so with the correct mic you could record vocals or anything you fancy.
User avatar
BobTheDog
Frequent Poster
Posts: 928
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 1:00 am

Re: Korg Kronos - too much for noob?

Postby The Elf » Sun Sep 30, 2018 8:06 am

I have to say that I find the Kronos incredibly complex and convoluted.

When I was recently trying to turn off velocity control on a sound I found that I had to go to a dozen different pages to achieve it, none of which seem designed to make it simple, obvious or clear. And don't get me started on saving/loading sounds - baffling!

The Kronos is a clever beast, but friendly it ain't.

When it comes to programmability give me a Kurzweil VAST workstation any day...
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 13504
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: Korg Kronos - too much for noob?

Postby BobTheDog » Sun Sep 30, 2018 8:41 am

I get your point but a lot of synths are like that, there is no global switch to turn velocity off. The difference is it is usually easy to find the modulations where on the Kronos it can be a pain in the arse, especially as every engine is different.

Annoyingly on the Kronos it is easy to globally set velocity, pitch bend etc as long as you load your program into a combi or sequence. Then you can set one parameter to set fixed velocity. Why they didn’t add this to programmes who knows.
User avatar
BobTheDog
Frequent Poster
Posts: 928
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 1:00 am

Re: Korg Kronos - too much for noob?

Postby mitya33 » Sun Sep 30, 2018 12:48 pm

I finally settled on the new MODX8.

Guess we'll soon see how complex that proves to be, but I'm willing to learn.

It was with a heavy heart that I rejected the Nord. It's cool for so many reasons, but ultimately three things killed it for me:

1) In my very in experienced opinion, it's overpriced - even at its current price of £2,800; at its list price of ~£3,500, it's absurd. If this view is contentious, then consider that the MODX8 is almost exactly half the price.

2) A third of it I'll never use, namely the organ section. I'm here for pianos and synth.

3) The synth, while beautiful-sounding, is never going to be as deep or with the same potential for multi-layered, evolving sounds, as something like the MODX.

So there you have it. As for the Kronos, I just couldn't get over the line; not inviting in the slightest, I felt, and it's just a replacement so who knows what NAMM will bring.

Thanks for all your advice along the way!
mitya33
Poster
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2018 11:50 am

Re: Korg Kronos - turn off

Postby roalkey » Tue Feb 11, 2020 7:01 pm

Hallo, please, I would like to ask, I have kronos X and OS1.3.1, where I have the default tool turn off in 4 hours. Where in Global Settings can this be turned off?
roalkey
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2019 2:21 pm

Re: Korg Kronos - turn off

Postby Eddy Deegan » Tue Feb 11, 2020 7:15 pm

roalkey wrote:Hallo, please, I would like to ask, I have kronos X and OS1.3.1, where I have the default tool turn off in 4 hours. Where in Global Settings can this be turned off?

The latest OS is 3.1.3.

The manual on page 20 states:

Image

However, I am slightly confused because that option does not appear on my Kronos (currently running 3.1.2). Maybe it was added in 3.1.3 or only on hardware versions after the 2011 release (I got one of the early ones).

For future readers, if the above image fails to load then the text of the manual states:

Kronos manual wrote:The KRONOS can be set to automatically turn off the power when the system has not been active for a certain length of time. “Activity” includes using the TouchView display and most front panel controls, playing sounds, sending or receiving MIDI, local or ftp disk activity, etc. It does notinclude usage of the MASTER VOLUME or AUDIO INPUT knobs or the MIC/LINE buttons, however.

When the power turns off, any un-saved edits or settings will be lost. Make sure that you save important settings before this occurs.You can control the amount of time before the system turns off, or disable Auto Power-Off entirely.

To do so:

1. Go to the Global P0: Basic Setup page.
2. In the menu, select the Auto Power-Off Setting

User avatar
Eddy Deegan
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 3346
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 12:00 am
Location: Brighton & Hove, UK
Some of my works.
Please consider supporting the SOS Forum Album project.
 

Re: Korg Kronos - turn off

Postby roalkey » Tue Feb 11, 2020 8:09 pm

sorry, I asked because I don't have it on that Global P0 screen, basic setup. Can't it be hidden somewhere?
roalkey
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2019 2:21 pm

Re: Korg Kronos - turn off

Postby Eddy Deegan » Tue Feb 11, 2020 8:35 pm

roalkey wrote:sorry, I asked because I don't have it on that Global P0 screen, basic setup. Can't it be hidden somewhere?

Lol, no worries, it's a valid question - I'll hunt around and see if I can find it. It's a Kronos, how many menus can there be?

If I'm not back in 2 days, send food :lol:
User avatar
Eddy Deegan
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 3346
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 12:00 am
Location: Brighton & Hove, UK
Some of my works.
Please consider supporting the SOS Forum Album project.
 

Re: Korg Kronos - too much for noob?

Postby IAA » Tue Feb 11, 2020 8:37 pm

I think it may be hardware dependant. I have a Kronos X and its there on Global Basic and then towards the bottom of the basic setup menu drop down, just above fan control setting....
IAA
Regular
Posts: 443
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 1:00 am

Re: Korg Kronos - too much for noob?

Postby Eddy Deegan » Tue Feb 11, 2020 8:43 pm

IAA wrote:I think it may be hardware dependant. I have a Kronos X and its there on Global Basic and then towards the bottom of the basic setup menu drop down, just above fan control setting....

Thanks IAA, yeah I think you might be right... on my Kronos the option does not appear; the option above the fan control setting is to display the public ID.

It's odd that roalkey's Kronos turns off after 4 hours if there is no option to change that though :problem:
User avatar
Eddy Deegan
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 3346
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 12:00 am
Location: Brighton & Hove, UK
Some of my works.
Please consider supporting the SOS Forum Album project.
 

Re: Korg Kronos - too much for noob?

Postby Eddy Deegan » Tue Feb 11, 2020 8:53 pm

Revisiting the manual, I see this on page 20 also:

Kronos manual wrote:If Auto Power-off is enabled, a dialog box indicating the time until automatic power-off will appear immediately after start-up.

The dialog box will close automatically after a few seconds. The hourglass icon shows how much time is left before it closes. If you touch this icon, the hourglass will pause (shown by a red “X”) and the dialog box will remain open. To close the dialog box, press the Change Setting or OK buttons, or simply wait for the hourglass to complete.

Image

To change the auto power-off setting, press the Change Setting button. The Auto Power-Off Setting dialog box will appear, just as if you’d selected the Global menu command


On my Kronos the auto-power off warning does not appear on bootup. Roalkey, does it appear on yours? If so, try rebooting and pressing that Change Setting... button to get to the settings.

If it doesn't appear then I would say that there is probably something else going on, so if the Kronos X auto-powers off without that dialogue appearing on bootup I would contact Korg Support and ask them for help.

As an additional thought, if you're not going to touch it for 4 hours then doesn't it make sense to turn it off anyway? ;)
User avatar
Eddy Deegan
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 3346
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 12:00 am
Location: Brighton & Hove, UK
Some of my works.
Please consider supporting the SOS Forum Album project.
 

Re: Korg Kronos - too much for noob?

Postby Arpangel » Wed Feb 12, 2020 10:58 am

Nord for incredibly mysterious and beautiful synth sounds, that are easily accessible, Korg for versatility, a Yamaha MODX for a complex synth engine.
I’m in the same boat as you, and it's a very difficult decision, much to my surprise, I’m probably going to get a Nord of some sort, even though it goes against the grain, as the synth sounds do have this very unique and beautiful quality to them.
User avatar
Arpangel
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2599
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2003 12:00 am

Re: Korg Kronos - too much for noob?

Postby The Red Bladder » Wed Feb 12, 2020 12:00 pm

When you have seen what a Korg Kronos player who can drive the thing at Ninja-level can get out of that machine, that is when you realise that 'Too much!' is just not enough!
The Red Bladder
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2352
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 12:00 am
Location: . . .
 

Re: Korg Kronos - too much for noob?

Postby IAA » Wed Feb 12, 2020 12:50 pm

Yeah, look at Mr Rudess, no bank of keyboards, just the Kronos and an iPad! Mind you that is some keyboard stand........
IAA
Regular
Posts: 443
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 1:00 am

Re: Korg Kronos - too much for noob?

Postby N i g e l » Wed Feb 12, 2020 6:48 pm

The mega synths often have a PC editor available, which makes initial sound design a lot easier than menu diving.
N i g e l
Regular
Posts: 480
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2018 2:40 pm
Location: UK

Next