You are here

Is there a synth with coding logic?

For fans of synths, pianos or keyboard instruments of any sort.

Is there a synth with coding logic?

Postby Horse mk2 » Sun Oct 07, 2018 3:52 pm

I was messing with a sprawling evolving pad on my recently acquired rev2, and found myself thinking how handy it would be to be able to control patch settings with visual basic style logic, for example I might want mod settings to send the cut off wandering around with freedom unless it went above a certain level, at which point it would be reduced, or if it went above a certain level when resonance was also above a certain level etc...

Not sure if I've explained that very well or not, but does any synth (vst included) have that type of logical coding interface available?
Horse mk2
Poster
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2014 1:00 am

Re: Is there a synth with coding logic?

Postby BJG145 » Sun Oct 07, 2018 4:47 pm

My first thought would be Max/MSP, Max for Live, Reaktor; DIY synth-making systems. Kontakt has its own scripting language, but I doubt many VST synths or any hardware synths do...
User avatar
BJG145
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 3419
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 12:00 am

Re: Is there a synth with coding logic?

Postby Horse mk2 » Sun Oct 07, 2018 5:29 pm

Thanks - I shall head over to Google for some research
Horse mk2
Poster
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2014 1:00 am

Re: Is there a synth with coding logic?

Postby OneWorld » Sun Oct 07, 2018 7:43 pm

Cubase Logical Editor? And as mentioned Kontakt has a scripting language which you'll find resembles many of the common languages, has loops variables conditionals, you mention VB, that is not a scripting language as far as I know - has to be compiled? Unless it is VBscript but I thought that was long gone. Am not sure whether Kontakt would transmit the requisite data ie, some MIDI commands but not all?

I think Logical Editor would be easier, there are conditionals IF THEN


https://www.soundonsound.com/techniques ... l-editor-1
OneWorld
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2341
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 12:00 am

Re: Is there a synth with coding logic?

Postby Horse mk2 » Mon Oct 08, 2018 11:17 am

OneWorld wrote:Cubase Logical Editor? And as mentioned Kontakt has a scripting language which you'll find resembles many of the common languages, has loops variables conditionals, you mention VB, that is not a scripting language as far as I know - has to be compiled? Unless it is VBscript but I thought that was long gone. Am not sure whether Kontakt would transmit the requisite data ie, some MIDI commands but not all?

I think Logical Editor would be easier, there are conditionals IF THEN


https://www.soundonsound.com/techniques ... l-editor-1

Thanks - I wasn't meaning VB specifically, more just the notion - BASIC might have been a better choice. Access to parameter values to use in conditional logic is what it boils down to I suppose.
Horse mk2
Poster
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2014 1:00 am

Re: Is there a synth with coding logic?

Postby default » Mon Oct 15, 2018 12:47 am

Also check out Supercollider, Chuck and Csound - all free and code based.
default
Poster
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Bristol, England
 

Re: Is there a synth with coding logic?

Postby proteus-ix » Mon Oct 15, 2018 1:51 am

Horse mk2 wrote:Not sure if I've explained that very well or not, but does any synth (vst included) have that type of logical coding interface available?

Yes. In addition to the obvious Max for Live, Apple has scripting, and probably most relevant to your request, UVI's Falcon uses Lua to script MIDI processing.

https://www.uvi.net/uviscript

From the SOS review:

"Advanced users can take instrument design further with scripting. Create custom script processors to generate or modify MIDI data or even design fully-skinned instruments with the Lua language."

https://www.soundonsound.com/news/uvi-u ... instrument
proteus-ix
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2016 7:00 pm

Re: Is there a synth with coding logic?

Postby BJG145 » Mon Oct 15, 2018 9:52 am

proteus-ix wrote:UVI's Falcon uses Lua to script MIDI processing.

Interesting; that looks pretty good...
User avatar
BJG145
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 3419
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 12:00 am

Re: Is there a synth with coding logic?

Postby Mixedup » Mon Oct 15, 2018 1:18 pm

Blue Cat Audio Plug'n Script might also be worth investigating.
User avatar
Mixedup
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4202
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Laputa


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users