You are here

Is there a synth with coding logic?

Page 1 of 1

Is there a synth with coding logic?

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2018 3:52 pm
by Horse mk2
I was messing with a sprawling evolving pad on my recently acquired rev2, and found myself thinking how handy it would be to be able to control patch settings with visual basic style logic, for example I might want mod settings to send the cut off wandering around with freedom unless it went above a certain level, at which point it would be reduced, or if it went above a certain level when resonance was also above a certain level etc...

Not sure if I've explained that very well or not, but does any synth (vst included) have that type of logical coding interface available?

Re: Is there a synth with coding logic?

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2018 4:47 pm
by BJG145
My first thought would be Max/MSP, Max for Live, Reaktor; DIY synth-making systems. Kontakt has its own scripting language, but I doubt many VST synths or any hardware synths do...

Re: Is there a synth with coding logic?

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2018 5:29 pm
by Horse mk2
Thanks - I shall head over to Google for some research

Re: Is there a synth with coding logic?

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2018 7:43 pm
by OneWorld
Cubase Logical Editor? And as mentioned Kontakt has a scripting language which you'll find resembles many of the common languages, has loops variables conditionals, you mention VB, that is not a scripting language as far as I know - has to be compiled? Unless it is VBscript but I thought that was long gone. Am not sure whether Kontakt would transmit the requisite data ie, some MIDI commands but not all?

I think Logical Editor would be easier, there are conditionals IF THEN


https://www.soundonsound.com/techniques ... l-editor-1

Re: Is there a synth with coding logic?

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2018 11:17 am
by Horse mk2
OneWorld wrote:Cubase Logical Editor? And as mentioned Kontakt has a scripting language which you'll find resembles many of the common languages, has loops variables conditionals, you mention VB, that is not a scripting language as far as I know - has to be compiled? Unless it is VBscript but I thought that was long gone. Am not sure whether Kontakt would transmit the requisite data ie, some MIDI commands but not all?

I think Logical Editor would be easier, there are conditionals IF THEN


https://www.soundonsound.com/techniques ... l-editor-1

Thanks - I wasn't meaning VB specifically, more just the notion - BASIC might have been a better choice. Access to parameter values to use in conditional logic is what it boils down to I suppose.

Re: Is there a synth with coding logic?

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2018 12:47 am
by default
Also check out Supercollider, Chuck and Csound - all free and code based.

Re: Is there a synth with coding logic?

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2018 1:51 am
by proteus-ix
Horse mk2 wrote:Not sure if I've explained that very well or not, but does any synth (vst included) have that type of logical coding interface available?

Yes. In addition to the obvious Max for Live, Apple has scripting, and probably most relevant to your request, UVI's Falcon uses Lua to script MIDI processing.

https://www.uvi.net/uviscript

From the SOS review:

"Advanced users can take instrument design further with scripting. Create custom script processors to generate or modify MIDI data or even design fully-skinned instruments with the Lua language."

https://www.soundonsound.com/news/uvi-u ... instrument

Re: Is there a synth with coding logic?

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2018 9:52 am
by BJG145
proteus-ix wrote:UVI's Falcon uses Lua to script MIDI processing.

Interesting; that looks pretty good...

Re: Is there a synth with coding logic?

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2018 1:18 pm
by Mixedup
Blue Cat Audio Plug'n Script might also be worth investigating.