You are here

Help with DX7

For fans of synths, pianos or keyboard instruments of any sort.

Help with DX7

Postby oclmtz » Fri Jun 07, 2019 9:33 pm

When I bought my dx7 I noticed the notes would bend on the first attack but would sound normal after that. I’m a noob so please be patient with hoe I’m describing the problem. The notes don’t bend if I play with one hand and that’s frustrating me. I took it to a repair shop and the tech said I might need a new cpu board. I couldn’t figure out how to get rid of the bend so I got a refurbished board and had it installed. That fixed the issue BUT my roommate changed some of the parameters and now the bend is back.

I tried loading factory patches but it still sounds off. Any suggestions?
oclmtz
New here

Re: Help with DX7

Postby Janneman » Fri Jun 07, 2019 10:06 pm

Hi there, have you tried to reset the dx7?
Janneman
Regular
Kind regards,   Jan van Duren

Postby oclmtz » Sat Jun 08, 2019 12:35 am

No I haven’t reset it. I haven’t figured out how to do that.
oclmtz
New here

Postby Arpangel » Sat Jun 08, 2019 7:52 am

What DX7 is it? a MK1? or one of the others.This sounds like a parameter adjustment issue in the Pitch E.G, a new board may not have been necessary. I would do a self test, on a MK1 it's Function and buttons 16 and 32 let it run through, it should reset in the process. I had numerous issues on my MK1 and this always seemed to sort things out. Also, pitch on mine went a bit crazy always after loading in new sounds, I just had to go in and reset the pitch bend parameters and all was fine. These are very reliable synths, the hardware rarely goes wrong.
Arpangel
Frequent Poster

Postby oclmtz » Sat Jun 08, 2019 7:04 pm

It’s mk1 and yeah I may have jumped the gun with replacing the board.

I started the test sequence and the first thing displayed is “v1.8 06-sep-85 test entry”