You are here

What do I need to do so that two computers can use one Serial device.

For fans of synths, pianos or keyboard instruments of any sort.

What do I need to do so that two computers can use one Serial device.

Postby JayFlex » Mon Jun 10, 2019 9:41 am

I'm talking about Roland, connected via Serial. It would not be desirable to poke the connector every time here and there, and how to make it so that two computers could use it. By the way, not necessarily at the same time. Can take it turns, just to avoid physical connect/disconnect.
With Midi everything is clear. buy midi interface and the problem is solved. And here how to be? Serial splitter/hub or what is it called at all? Or KVM on COM?
User avatar
JayFlex
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2019 9:01 am

Re: What do I need to do so that two computers can use one Serial device.

Postby BJG145 » Mon Jun 10, 2019 11:17 am

Serial switch...? Plenty on eBay / Amazon...

Image
User avatar
BJG145
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 3791
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 12:00 am


Re: What do I need to do so that two computers can use one Serial device.

Postby Fixedroad99 » Mon Jun 10, 2019 11:28 am


surest step to burn ports

Better as a software, serial over ethernet, a host is placed on one computer, clients are connected to another, and a network connects ... the client provides a virtual com port for applications
User avatar
Fixedroad99
New here
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2018 10:11 am
Location: New York

Re: What do I need to do so that two computers can use one Serial device.

Postby Eddy Deegan » Tue Jun 11, 2019 6:30 am

JayFlex wrote:I'm talking about Roland, connected via Serial

Fixedroad99 wrote:Better as a software, serial over ethernet, a host is placed on one computer, clients are connected to another, and a network connects ... the client provides a virtual com port for applications

SoE is useful in cases (I've seen it used in the physical security industry which is riddled with decades-old devices using all kinds of weird serial connections) but given the OP mentioned a Roland device I suspect it wouldn't be useful in this context.

A simple serial selector switch should be fine. I used one for years back in the 90s to share a modem between two PCs.
User avatar
Eddy Deegan
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2418
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 12:00 am
Location: Brighton & Hove, UK
Some of my musical works.
I had a weird time in Surrey once, but that was a drummer's fault.

Re: What do I need to do so that two computers can use one Serial device.

Postby wireman » Wed Jun 12, 2019 6:56 pm

Maplin? - gone,
Misco? - gone.

Betterbox? still around...

https://www.betterbox.co.uk/products/auto-scsi-manual/manual
wireman
Regular
Posts: 280
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 1:00 am


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users