You are here

Sync Issue

For fans of synths, pianos or keyboard instruments of any sort.

Sync Issue

Postby matt222 » Mon Aug 26, 2019 9:01 pm

Hi all. I have my beloved Akai ASQ10 hardware sequencer sending MIDI Clock to a Korg Kaoss Pad, set to receive external clock and running a 4 beat drum sample on loop.

However, after approximately 35 - 40 bars at 195 bpm, they start to fall out of time

When the ASQ10 is synced to anything else ( TR8 for example ) I don't notice any issues

Is there a reliable sync box device available that will lock everything together tight that might solve the issue?
matt222
Regular
Posts: 271
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2015 12:00 am

Re: Sync Issue

Postby The Elf » Mon Aug 26, 2019 9:20 pm

I had a Kaoss pad and found that it really never held time properly. Loops, in particular, didn't lock at all - and even went out of time with each other internally within the pad itself, despite being edited to be *exactly* the same length.

I lost patience long before I ever found the Kaoss useful.

You could try running both devices from a common clock as a quick and dirty test. At least that way you would know if you're going to be able to solve it. I think you're going to find that the Kaoss pad is simply not able to lock reliably.
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 12542
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: Sync Issue

Postby matt222 » Mon Aug 26, 2019 10:21 pm

Hi Elf, thanks for confirming the likely issue. Any recommendations for a simple hardware unit that will do really simple samples and loop in sync with the sequencer?
matt222
Regular
Posts: 271
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2015 12:00 am

Re: Sync Issue

Postby The Elf » Tue Aug 27, 2019 9:29 am

You could remove all dependence on clocking by repeatedly triggering one-shot loop samples from notes in your sequencer. Maybe the Kaoss pad allows this? I don't recall.

It's a long, long time since I needed a hardware sampler, so I'm not the best person to suggest. Any of the old boxes might do, but for a modern option... maybe something like the Roland SP-404?

I'm assuming this is all about pre-prepared loops? For live looping I use a combination of software-based live looping (Cantabile and GLoop) and hardware in the form of a Line 6 Helix and Roland RC-505. My Zoom ARQ96 also does live looping, but nobody has enough life left to figure that out!
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 12542
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: Sync Issue

Postby matt222 » Tue Aug 27, 2019 12:46 pm

I'll try the one shot option. Had a Boss RC202 recommended as an option, I'll do my research
matt222
Regular
Posts: 271
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2015 12:00 am

Re: Sync Issue

Postby matt222 » Tue Aug 27, 2019 10:48 pm

As always, Elf saves the day! The one shot sample worked - thanks again
matt222
Regular
Posts: 271
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2015 12:00 am

Re: Sync Issue

Postby Martin Walker » Wed Aug 28, 2019 11:32 am

matt222 wrote:As always, Elf saves the day! The one shot sample worked - thanks again

Hence the saying "You only get one shot at this!" :beamup:

Glad you're sorted matt222, and that your loop is locked into the groove.


Martin
User avatar
Martin Walker
Moderator
Posts: 14220
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 9:44 am
Location: Cornwall, UK


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users