You are here

Yamaha RS 7000 not booting

For fans of synths, pianos or keyboard instruments of any sort.

Yamaha RS 7000 not booting

Postby d-steso » Wed Nov 13, 2019 10:48 pm

Hi,
my RS 7000 does not boot anymore . I push the power on button, the display lights up, the Yamaha logo appears , but nothing else happens.
It stucks at the Yamaha logo, just before the loading bar (of the OS) appears.
Only the first time that I encountered this problem , I could solve it by doing the Factory Reset Procedure ( Press and hold down the [OCT DOWN], [OCT UP] and the [STORE] buttons while turning the power ON; and then release the buttons once the power is ON ).
Many time has passed since then and I have tried several times to repeat this operation, but it has not worked anymore.
I am very worried because I don't know where to turn for repair.
I have already had to deal with the Yamaha Repair Center in my region and I know their limits very well ( they can replace potentiometers and other buttons, but are unable to do more complex repairs) .
I know it very well and I really hope to find the solution by myself .
Anyone familiar with fixing these or know someone who is? any help is appreciated
* I am desperate: I bought it new in 2000 and after 18 years it is like a family member to me. Help me please.
d-steso
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2019 10:27 pm

Re: Yamaha RS 7000 not booting

Postby James Perrett » Wed Nov 13, 2019 11:59 pm

Does it have a battery to power its internal memory when the power is off? I'd check that first.
User avatar
James Perrett
Moderator
Posts: 8682
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2001 11:00 pm
Location: The wilds of Hampshire
JRP Music - Audio Mastering and Restoration. JRP Music Facebook Page

Re: Yamaha RS 7000 not booting

Postby d-steso » Fri Nov 15, 2019 4:03 am

Thank you so much for the advice James.
I had hoped immediately for the internal backup battery ...
Then I discarded this possibility, because in the manual there is clearly written that when the backup battery runs down, a "Backup Battery Low" warning message appears on the display and I never saw this message.
The manual then continues that "if the battery is completely discharged, the contents of the memory are lost".
Does this mean that I lose even the operating system?
d-steso
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2019 10:27 pm

Re: Yamaha RS 7000 not booting

Postby Sam Spoons » Fri Nov 15, 2019 11:16 am

The OS updater is available here, https://usa.yamaha.com/support/updates/rs7000_os_updater.html If you have lost your OS it would be worth trying to run it after changing the CMOS battery. But it is usual for the OS to be in non-volatile memory so it should survive changing the CMOS battery.
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10902
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Yamaha RS 7000 not booting

Postby d-steso » Wed Nov 27, 2019 10:22 pm

Thank you very much Sam.
d-steso
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2019 10:27 pm

Re: Yamaha RS 7000 not booting

Postby d-steso » Thu Nov 28, 2019 4:07 pm

Today I replaced the internal CMOS battery with a new one,
I also updated the OS, but after following the whole procedure the RS7000 doesn't boot the OS. The Yamaha logo appears , but nothing else happens.
It stucks at the Yamaha logo and below it appears a message that did not appear before:
" factory set ! ".
At this point I tried to turn it on by pressing only the power on button and I also tried to turn it on by pressing power on plus the combination of keys to activate the factory reset procedure, but the result is the same :
the display lights up, the Yamaha logo appears , but nothing else happens.

I am in mourning
d-steso
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2019 10:27 pm

Re: Yamaha RS 7000 not booting

Postby fatbenelton » Thu Nov 28, 2019 8:18 pm

Have a look at this thread incl links - may help.

https://www.reddit.com/r/synthesizers/c ... ame=iossmf
User avatar
fatbenelton
Frequent Poster
Posts: 542
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2002 11:00 pm
Location: Liverpool, UK
Jonny

Re: Yamaha RS 7000 not booting

Postby forumuser930705 » Sat Jan 11, 2020 8:45 pm

I bought this thing the first day it came out...
I just had the same issue happen this morning...
anything new to report...
I am sad and sick at the same :cry: :sick: :crazy:

TAZ

d-steso wrote:Hi,
my RS 7000 does not boot anymore . I push the power on button, the display lights up, the Yamaha logo appears , but nothing else happens.
It stucks at the Yamaha logo, just before the loading bar (of the OS) appears.
Only the first time that I encountered this problem , I could solve it by doing the Factory Reset Procedure ( Press and hold down the [OCT DOWN], [OCT UP] and the [STORE] buttons while turning the power ON; and then release the buttons once the power is ON ).
Many time has passed since then and I have tried several times to repeat this operation, but it has not worked anymore.
I am very worried because I don't know where to turn for repair.
I have already had to deal with the Yamaha Repair Center in my region and I know their limits very well ( they can replace potentiometers and other buttons, but are unable to do more complex repairs) .
I know it very well and I really hope to find the solution by myself .
Anyone familiar with fixing these or know someone who is? any help is appreciated
* I am desperate: I bought it new in 2000 and after 18 years it is like a family member to me. Help me please.
forumuser930705
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2020 8:37 pm

Re: Yamaha RS 7000 not booting

Postby forumuser930705 » Sat Jan 11, 2020 8:48 pm

Any ideas how one can open files elseware or draw the midi from the files?
forumuser930705
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2020 8:37 pm

Re: Yamaha RS 7000 not booting

Postby BillB » Sun Jan 12, 2020 10:15 am

fatbenelton wrote:Have a look at this thread incl links - may help.

https://www.reddit.com/r/synthesizers/c ... ame=iossmf

This leads through to
https://forum.mutable-instruments.net/t ... -caps/7506

Which does suggest that the issue is down to dodgy capacitors. But the thread gives quite clear advice as to where the issue is likely to be and how best to fix it.

Makes me curious whether I should be lifting the lid on gear of a similar age (e.g. JV-2080) to see if there are any issues. I have already pre-emptively recapped all of the JV sound cards after an alert a year or so ago about them.
BillB
Frequent Poster
Posts: 803
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: East Yorkshire


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users