You are here

Novation X Station, no record in daw

Page 1 of 2

Novation X Station, no record in daw

PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2020 6:34 pm
by Nabdone69
Hello peeps, I recently bought a Novation x Station 25. I want to record the x station into my daw (Mixcraft 8) but all it is doing is acting like a midi keyboard controller and only playing the built in sounds of my daw. Really hope someone can help...

Re: Novation X Station, no record in daw

PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2020 6:44 pm
by The Elf
Do you have its audio driver selected in your DAW? Hopefully it will have an ASIO option.

Re: Novation X Station, no record in daw

PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2020 6:56 pm
by n o i s e f l e ur
If you mean it isn't outputting any audio from the audio outs, then it is probably set to Local Off somewhere in the MIDI settings.

Re: Novation X Station, no record in daw

PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2020 6:58 pm
by The Elf
n o i s e f l e ur wrote:If you mean it isn't outputting any audio from the audio outs, then it is probably set to Local Off somewhere in the MIDI settings.
But surely this is the way it should be?

Re: Novation X Station, no record in daw

PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2020 6:59 pm
by Nabdone69
Hi, it has the latest drivers, and it shows p in my daw as x station and I have chosen it as my input and output device in midi options, and my audio interface is selected as audio device. It is connected to my pc by usb only.

Re: Novation X Station, no record in daw

PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2020 7:12 pm
by The Elf
Nabdone69 wrote:my audio interface is selected as audio device
I think there lies your problem.

You can only have one ASIO driver selected in a PC DAW (and I presume you are using the ASIO driver). You would be better using the synth's audio outputs instead of trying to get them over USB - or alternatively you will have to forego your audio interface when using the synth over USB audio.

Re: Novation X Station, no record in daw

PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2020 7:24 pm
by Nabdone69
Synths audio output? in what way and how. Where do I attach my x station to but my audio interface!!

Re: Novation X Station, no record in daw

PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2020 7:26 pm
by Nabdone69
Which options do I choose in my daw to hear the synth and record it into my daw?

Re: Novation X Station, no record in daw

PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2020 7:28 pm
by Nabdone69
Do I choose just the x station for midi in/out and also choose the x station for audio device?

Re: Novation X Station, no record in daw

PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2020 7:31 pm
by The Elf
Nabdone69 wrote:Synths audio output? in what way and how. Where do I attach my x station to but my audio interface!!
I think we have crossed wires here...

You have your synth with its audio connected to your audio interface, then? Have you tried plugging headphones into the synth and see if there's any audio there?

Re: Novation X Station, no record in daw

PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2020 7:38 pm
by Nabdone69
Sorry, no, my synth is connected to my pc via usb. The synth is being heard through headphones, but not in my daw. Sorry if I sound dumb

Re: Novation X Station, no record in daw

PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2020 7:43 pm
by n o i s e f l e ur
The Elf wrote:
n o i s e f l e ur wrote:If you mean it isn't outputting any audio from the audio outs, then it is probably set to Local Off somewhere in the MIDI settings.
But surely this is the way it should be?

Not if you want the onboard keyboard to play the onboard synth? It's always been my understanding that Local Off disables the keyboard of any given instrument such that it only responds to MIDI received from an external source, turning it into a sound-module only.

Obviously it ought to respond to said external MIDI control, but it's unclear if this is precisely the case here. IOW, is the OP outputting (or expecting to) the audio via the analogue audio outs or via
USB?

I must confess I didn't even realise the X-Station could output audio over USB as I only ever had one on loan very briefly, a long time ago. Funny enough, I still have the bloody manual in a cupboard - I really should return that to its rightful owner lol!

Re: Novation X Station, no record in daw

PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2020 7:44 pm
by n o i s e f l e ur
Hah!

Well, that clears that up! :D

Re: Novation X Station, no record in daw

PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2020 7:47 pm
by Nabdone69
I'm still nonplussed!!!

Re: Novation X Station, no record in daw

PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2020 7:50 pm
by n o i s e f l e ur
From the SOS review;


"The other limitation is that the built-in synth is inactive when you are in controller mode. This means that you can't play back the synth from a MIDI track while using the controller to do something else. All you can do is record the synth part to an audio track, and then continue to use the keyboard to play other parts."

https://www.soundonsound.com/reviews/no ... station-25