You are here

Yamaha Tyros 5 firmware corruption

For fans of synths, pianos or keyboard instruments of any sort.

Yamaha Tyros 5 firmware corruption

Postby Heda » Mon Mar 23, 2020 10:53 am

Hi,
While updating my Tyros5's firmware the power was accidentally interrupted, and when I restarted it the firmware is off course corrupted now. I've attempted to run the firmware update using the USB flash drive again but it does NOT start although the Tyros5 communicates with the USB drive. When I turn on the keyboard, the main screen comes up, but the buttons don't work. It still communicates to my computer via USB cable since I was able to copy/paste the TYROSSETUP.PRG into its HDD. TYROSSETUP.PRG is the firmware file.
- Is there a way to access Tyros5's HDD and run the firmware from there?
- I don't have any means of running the TYROSSETUP.PRG file directly from my computer into Tyros5. Is there a way to do so? It there a software?
This will confirm whether its motherboard is corrupted or not. If it comes back alive I don't have to replace the motherboard, otherwise most likely the motherboard is damaged.
Kindly help, I'm in a lot of pain due to this issue. I cannot afford to buy another keyboard at the moment.
Heda
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2020 10:14 am

Re: Yamaha Tyros 5 firmware corruption

Postby Wonks » Mon Mar 23, 2020 1:28 pm

This is specialist stuff. Have you contacted Yamaha directly? They are normally pretty helpful.
User avatar
Wonks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10889
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Reading, UK
Correcting mistakes on the internet since 1853

Re: Yamaha Tyros 5 firmware corruption

Postby Heda » Sun Apr 19, 2020 2:22 am

Wonks wrote:This is specialist stuff. Have you contacted Yamaha directly? They are normally pretty helpful.
-------------------------------------------------------
Hi,
I live in Canada, and the Yamaha Service Centre in Canada have been very rude and refused to help at all. I reached out to Yamaha Service Centre in USA and someone was very nice in assisting me with this issue over the phone. Although the issue has not been resolved yet, but I appreciate their kind assistance.
Heda
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2020 10:14 am

Re: Yamaha Tyros 5 firmware corruption

Postby Heda » Sat Jul 11, 2020 10:31 pm

I've researched and troubleshot the keyboard's hardware. Everything turned out to be okay. If the firmware gets corrupted during upgrade, there are two ways to fix it: 1. By replacing the DM motherboard. 2. By re-installing the original program in IC 114, and the original data in IC 118. These software are not even in possession of Yamaha Service Centres. Therefore the only way to fix such an issue is to replace the motherboard which currently cost $1077 US dollar, and from Yamaha Canada $1138 Canadian dollars.
I ordered a new motherboard.
Heda
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2020 10:14 am