You are here

Do I need a synth?

For fans of synths, pianos or keyboard instruments of any sort.

Re: Do I need a synth?

Postby SecretSam » Wed Mar 25, 2020 8:48 am

The answer to your question is yes, of course. Everyone needs a synth. I don't play keyboards properly either (about grade 4 piano), but thanks to Ableton and a mouse, it all comes out OK.

The wonderful thing about synths is that there are loads of them, and you will want to keep buying more. That makes them the ideal geezer's hobby. Like cameras or train sets.
SecretSam
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1378
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 1:00 am
Location: Officially, I do not exist.
Instant gratification is actually pretty good. It's fast as well.

Re: Do I need a synth?

Postby Arpangel » Wed Mar 25, 2020 9:58 am

SecretSam wrote:that makes them the ideal geezer's hobby. Like cameras or train sets.

Strange thing is, I’ve got more trains now than synths, they’re taking over.
User avatar
Arpangel
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 3033
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2003 12:00 am

Re: Do I need a synth?

Postby SecretSam » Wed Mar 25, 2020 11:30 am

As long as you haven't bought those unbelievably expensive, digitally-controlled German ones. Trains, I mean. Not synths.
SecretSam
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1378
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 1:00 am
Location: Officially, I do not exist.
Instant gratification is actually pretty good. It's fast as well.

Re: Do I need a synth?

Postby Arpangel » Wed Mar 25, 2020 12:18 pm

SecretSam wrote:As long as you haven't bought those unbelievably expensive, digitally-controlled German ones. Trains, I mean. Not synths.

No, I’m all analogue, G scale, trains, not synths...

:D
User avatar
Arpangel
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 3033
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2003 12:00 am

Re: Do I need a synth?

Postby SecretSam » Wed Mar 25, 2020 12:28 pm

So an accident involving more than six of your trains that left most of them crushed might be a G7 flat 5 ?

No, that didn't really work, sorry ...
SecretSam
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1378
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 1:00 am
Location: Officially, I do not exist.
Instant gratification is actually pretty good. It's fast as well.

Re: Do I need a synth?

Postby Watchmaker » Wed Mar 25, 2020 12:49 pm

zenguitar wrote:
Watchmaker wrote:The Neutron looks to be just the thing

Think of it as a gateway drug to full Eurorack modular addiction ;)

And don't forget to work your way through Synth Secrets. I've already got new printer cartridges ready to print one month's column every week once my synth, keyboard, and skiff arrive.

Already have an additional filter, Roland 510 module and a bunch of utility modules ready to plug in. And fully expecting to purchase more modules and/or B Pro-one/MiniD as and when Synth Secrets requires it.

https://www.soundonsound.com/series/synth-secrets

Andy :beamup:

Thanks Andy, that'll come in handy!
User avatar
Watchmaker
Frequent Poster
Posts: 756
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 12:00 am
Location: Upstate NY, USA
Take my advice, I'm not using it.

Re: Do I need a synth?

Postby Sam Spoons » Wed Mar 25, 2020 1:18 pm

SecretSam wrote:So an accident involving more than six of your trains that left most of them crushed might be a G7 flat 5 ?

No, that didn't really work, sorry ...

:clap: :clap: :clap: Works for me :bouncy:
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11601
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Do I need a synth?

Postby The Elf » Wed Mar 25, 2020 1:29 pm

TBH, if I was going to tell someone to work through Synth Secrets I would suggest a more capable synth to undertake it with. The Neutron is a pretty basic monosynth, and not without its idiosyncrasies. Much as I enjoy mine I do see it for what it is.

The Novation Peak (or Summit, if you can find the money/space) would be a great companion to work through that course. And it is also my favourite polysynth of the moment.
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 13798
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: Do I need a synth?

Postby zenguitar » Wed Mar 25, 2020 1:41 pm

Synth Secrets provides the justification to purchase additional modules on a regular basis ;)

Andy :beamup:
User avatar
zenguitar
Moderator
Posts: 9537
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 1:00 am
Location: Devon
When you see a fork in the road, take it.
Yogi Berra

Re: Do I need a synth?

Postby N i g e l » Thu Mar 26, 2020 1:24 pm

Does the NORD modular still cut it theses days ?
Modular flexibility and presets too !
N i g e l
Frequent Poster
Posts: 665
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2018 2:40 pm
Location: UK

Re: Do I need a synth?

Postby MOF » Thu Mar 26, 2020 3:55 pm

Does the NORD modular still cut it theses days ?
Modular flexibility and presets too !

I bought the original (rack) model with a view to really getting into programming my own unique sounds, that didn’t happen, I just used the presets and adjusted a few parameters. I still own it but it only gets used if I’m going back to an old song. Version one was a bit cumbersome because you needed two computers and midi interfaces, one to play back your sequence and one to program, the G2 version didn’t need that setup. What I’ve described is from memory many years ago but I’m pretty sure it’s correct.
I then got Reaktor as part of the Komplete package, and guess what, it got used in preset mode with the occasional tweak of a filter or ADSR.
MOF
Frequent Poster
Posts: 699
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 1:00 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Do I need a synth?

Postby Watchmaker » Fri Mar 27, 2020 2:04 am

Well I'm on chapter 5 of synth secrets and haven't even decided to buy one. learning lots - like I do know how synths work but never actually bothered to piece it together. My Navy electronic training went through all that, just not in that way :shocked:

The subtractive element is cool. Thinking about taking noise and filtering back to a recognizable sound is fascinating, much cogitation on harmonics to follow. Good thing I'm too old to get obsessed, I can't really afford another one.
User avatar
Watchmaker
Frequent Poster
Posts: 756
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 12:00 am
Location: Upstate NY, USA
Take my advice, I'm not using it.

Re: Do I need a synth?

Postby zenguitar » Fri Mar 27, 2020 2:58 am

Finally, my Arturia keyboard, MiniBrute2S, and Eurorack case are due to arrive tomorrow. My Roland and Polivoks modules are ready and waiting to drop in the case along with the utility modules.

But a large part of my reasoning when selecting my purchases was that I could affordably get a B Model D and/or Pro Soloist whenever Synth Secrets required some or all of the facilities they offered.

We are very fortunate to have reputable forum members who have verified how good the Behringer recreations are. Synth Secrets will decide my future purchases, and I have fresh printer cartridges ready to print out each month's edition for me to study.

Andy :beamup:
User avatar
zenguitar
Moderator
Posts: 9537
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 1:00 am
Location: Devon
When you see a fork in the road, take it.
Yogi Berra

Re: Do I need a synth?

Postby Arpangel » Fri Mar 27, 2020 8:25 am

SecretSam wrote:So an accident involving more than six of your trains that left most of them crushed might be a G7 flat 5 ?

No, that didn't really work, sorry ...

No, it would be a very minor 3rd.

:)
User avatar
Arpangel
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 3033
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2003 12:00 am

Re: Do I need a synth?

Postby The Elf » Fri Mar 27, 2020 9:14 am

zenguitar wrote:I could affordably get a B Model D and/or Pro Soloist...
A slip of the fingers (I realise you mean Pro One), but I would *love* someone to re-make the Pro Soloist! They are very fragile, and quite complex internally. Mine has needed a fair bit of TLC to keep it in working fettle.

So if anyone at Behringer is reading this - a Pro Soloist, please!
Image
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 13798
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

PreviousNext