You are here

MIDI IN Korg Microkorg (original)

For fans of synths, pianos or keyboard instruments of any sort.

Re: MIDI IN Korg Microkorg (original)

Postby Arpangel » Thu Apr 02, 2020 5:37 pm

BillB wrote:
Arpangel wrote:This is strange, I’m looking forward to the explanation!
:think:

So's Charic!

It has got me stumped. Wish I had a mini mighty MicroKorg here and we could meet on Zoom and compare settings.
But I don't :headbang:

If I had the same problem I would probably run the MK MIDI Thru into a MIDI monitor (e.g. MIDI-OX on PC, MIDI Wrench/ MIDI Scope on the iPad to look at the MIDI data and check its actual channel.

I'm pretty sure it is down to settings on the MK, but Charic has done a factory reset, tried a variety of Ins and Outs and been over the manual - as have I. So I don't know what to suggest.

I bet it’s one of those pesky obvious things that we all overlook sometimes, let’s hope.
You do have to make sure you turn local control off to play from an external keyboard, I’ve never come across this before, it’s a bit confusing, normally IME it shouldn’t make any difference if local is on, or off, synths just play okay, but apparently not in the Korg's case.
User avatar
Arpangel
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4259
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2003 12:00 am

Re: MIDI IN Korg Microkorg (original)

Postby Wonks » Thu Apr 02, 2020 6:02 pm

If it's a proper hardware MIDI Through port (rather than a software driven one), then it may be that there's a fault, maybe just a dry joint, on the, MIDI input to the Korg itself. So the hardware link between the MIDI ports is passing on incoming messages, but a faulty component is stopping the Microkorg from seeing and responding to them.
User avatar
Wonks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10886
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Reading, UK
Correcting mistakes on the internet since 1853

Re: MIDI IN Korg Microkorg (original)

Postby BillB » Fri Apr 03, 2020 12:54 am

Interesting call, Wonks, good out-of-box thinking (in-the-box thinking?). It has me wondering about any way of establishing whether there is any MIDI input at all. I wondered about sending a data dump into the MK (did you do that, Charic?) but the manual doesn’t say whether the display registers receipt of a data dump in any way.
So, last suggestion. With Local On, establish that the MK is making a sound when you press the keys. Now turn Local Off and plug the MK MIDI Out into its MIDI In - any sound?
Oh, one more, can you use clock data from any MIDI source to set the speed of the arpeggiator on the MK? The Global setting is important here.
BillB
Frequent Poster
Posts: 941
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2003 12:00 am
Location: East Yorkshire

Re: MIDI IN Korg Microkorg (original)

Postby charic » Fri Apr 03, 2020 2:44 am

Cheers guys for your patience yet again.

BillB.... in answer to your Question "So, last suggestion. With Local On, establish that the MK is making a sound when you press the keys. Now turn Local Off and plug the MK MIDI Out into its MIDI In - any sound?"

....Sound established, but No Sound with local off.....

Also today (all day) tried more things but to no avail) then discovered on my MacBook an app called Audio Midi Setup!
Tried it, didn't work, so swapped out the microKORG and replaced it with the Novation MiniNova and it worked?
If I mouse click the down arrow/triangle the Mininova makes a sound ( all be it random with each mouse press) then when I press/play the keyboard the up triangle illuminates, and although the Novation icon itself is still greyed out, the 2i4 is illuminated, the MicroKorg is connected to the 2i4 and the responses from the test are there.

I don't get the down triangle illuminated for the microKorg, suggesting no Midi-IN.

Thank you guys for your help on this on. I'm going to leave this for a while, until I can get myself back to Glasgow, or possibly Aberdeen, see if a shop specialist can connect this keyboard and either tell me what I'm doing wrong, or to satisfy my assumption and just confirm, the MIDI-IN port on my Korg is shot somehow :problem:
charic
Regular
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 12:00 am
Location: UK
Roland Juno 
Keystep
Impulse61
MiniNova 
MicroKorg
Volca series - Bass, Beats, Keys, Sample, FM & Kick
Focusrite Scarlet 2i4
Edirol M-10DX.
KRK Rocket 5 G3
Audio Technica MTH-M50x

Re: MIDI IN Korg Microkorg (original)

Postby Arpangel » Fri Apr 03, 2020 6:21 am

charic wrote:Cheers guys for your patience yet again.

BillB.... in answer to your Question "So, last suggestion. With Local On, establish that the MK is making a sound when you press the keys. Now turn Local Off and plug the MK MIDI Out into its MIDI In - any sound?"

....Sound established, but No Sound with local off.....

Also today (all day) tried more things but to no avail) then discovered on my MacBook an app called Audio Midi Setup!
Tried it, didn't work, so swapped out the microKORG and replaced it with the Novation MiniNova and it worked?
If I mouse click the down arrow/triangle the Mininova makes a sound ( all be it random with each mouse press) then when I press/play the keyboard the up triangle illuminates, and although the Novation icon itself is still greyed out, the 2i4 is illuminated, the MicroKorg is connected to the 2i4 and the responses from the test are there.

I don't get the down triangle illuminated for the microKorg, suggesting no Midi-IN.

Thank you guys for your help on this on. I'm going to leave this for a while, until I can get myself back to Glasgow, or possibly Aberdeen, see if a shop specialist can connect this keyboard and either tell me what I'm doing wrong, or to satisfy my assumption and just confirm, the MIDI-IN port on my Korg is shot somehow :problem:

Surely, you wouldn’t expect the Korg to make a sound with local off, nothing would appear at the Midi out, because local is off! It’s not generating any data itself.
Have you just tried setting local off, while connecting an external keyboard?
User avatar
Arpangel
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4259
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2003 12:00 am

Re: MIDI IN Korg Microkorg (original)

Postby BillB » Fri Apr 03, 2020 8:55 am

Arpangel wrote:Surely, you wouldn’t expect the Korg to make a sound with local off, nothing would appear at the Midi out, because local is off! It’s not generating any data itself.
Have you just tried setting local off, while connecting an external keyboard?

Local off disconnects the keyboard's MIDI from the internal sound generation engine, but should still produce a MIDI signal at MIDI Out. So if this is connected directly to MIDI In (as opposed to going through a DAW), it should generate a sound. My thinking was that the output/input MIDI channels would probably be the same, so it might remove that issue.

Oh well. Charic, did you try the Data dump and Arp speed tests that I suggested? Leaving notes aside, I am trying to establish whether any signal is getting from the MIDI input to the synth engine (which is Wonk's point explored).
BillB
Frequent Poster
Posts: 941
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2003 12:00 am
Location: East Yorkshire

Re: MIDI IN Korg Microkorg (original)

Postby charic » Fri Apr 03, 2020 7:53 pm

Local ON /OFF works as it should. Still no sound when played from external device.

Not yet tried the Data dump or ARP test, but have installed MIDI OX (W10 Version) and there does appear to be data on both ports, but the microKORG itself is not listed in midi devices, just the 2i4 audio interface, but that's normal, and when I play notes from the mKORG I see data in the Monitor - Output screen, and similar in the Monitor - Input screen, but otherwise the Input screen is just scrolling the timestamp.

That's how I interpret the data. Gotta find somewhere to stash an image then link the URL here.
charic
Regular
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 12:00 am
Location: UK
Roland Juno 
Keystep
Impulse61
MiniNova 
MicroKorg
Volca series - Bass, Beats, Keys, Sample, FM & Kick
Focusrite Scarlet 2i4
Edirol M-10DX.
KRK Rocket 5 G3
Audio Technica MTH-M50x

Re: MIDI IN Korg Microkorg (original)

Postby Arpangel » Sat Apr 04, 2020 8:40 am

Hope you get it sorted, be interesting to know what it is!

:thumbup:
User avatar
Arpangel
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4259
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2003 12:00 am

Re: MIDI IN Korg Microkorg (original)

Postby charic » Mon Apr 13, 2020 11:43 am

Had a peek inside to see if there's anything loose at the point where the midi terminals contact the circuit board,but I'd still need to remove the board to reach/inspect the far side.

Gonna leave the Korg a while, and just maybe, next time I'm in the big city, I'll try get it connected in-store.
charic
Regular
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 12:00 am
Location: UK
Roland Juno 
Keystep
Impulse61
MiniNova 
MicroKorg
Volca series - Bass, Beats, Keys, Sample, FM & Kick
Focusrite Scarlet 2i4
Edirol M-10DX.
KRK Rocket 5 G3
Audio Technica MTH-M50x

Previous