You are here

Advice for MIDI keyboard to start learning music production an piano (as a hobby)

For fans of synths, pianos or keyboard instruments of any sort.

Advice for MIDI keyboard to start learning music production an piano (as a hobby)

Postby Buddha2080 » Sun Jul 26, 2020 2:59 am

Hello, guys:

I just registered because I need advice on a keyboard I might purchase soon. But first, I will give you a brief introduction of myself, so you can figure out what I need.

I studied 8 years of music at the conservatorium (saxophone, 4 years) when I was a kid (8-16), so I know the basics (I have forgotten most of the advanced stuff). Later, when I was 23 I fooled around with electronic music creation for a few months (nothing serious, just as a hobby).

So now I work at home and I have plenty of time every day to do what I want and I figured I could learn to play the piano and create some electronic music just for fun.

The thing is that for the few videos I've watch to day on YouTube on how to start producing electronic music say that you need a midi keyboard, an interface, a PC and a good pair of headphones/monitors.

So now I'm in the process of choosing the midi keyboard and I have a few questions:

1. Can I use a 61 key midi keyboard as a normal keyboard to learn to play the piano along the way (I would like to learn to play piano at the same time I learn to create music) or are these two different devices? I mean, could I use some of the software you can find around to learn to play the piano or a midi keyboard is only to create samples and such?

2. Would you recommend getting a midi keyboard to start learning the craft from scratch or is it too soon?