You are here

Novice question - keyboard tuning.

For fans of synths, pianos or keyboard instruments of any sort.

Novice question - keyboard tuning.

Postby adrian_k » Wed Aug 05, 2020 6:05 pm

Full disclosure- I started learning keys a few months ago. Been playing guitar for umm surely not crikey it is 47 years.

My keyboard sounds out of tune to me. Or at least certain intervals. Am I going mad?

For example, if I play G two below mid C with B two above mid C it sounds like a honky tonk piano to me. But if I play C below mid C and E two above mid C it’s seems ok.

I’m playing a Roland V-Combo on the ‘GrandPianoV’ setting. It’s not as noticeable on ‘Grand Piano’.

I realise equal temperament tuning is a compromise - is that what I’m hearing? I’ve never really played a real piano (certainly never one that’ was in tune!) so cant really compare.

:crazy:
adrian_k
Frequent Poster
getting better all the time..

Re: Novice question - keyboard tuning.

Postby zenguitar » Wed Aug 05, 2020 6:10 pm

Is it possible that GrandPianoV is modelling a stretch tuned concert grand piano?

Andy :beamup:
zenguitar
The more I understand Music, the less good I get at it.

Postby RichardT » Wed Aug 05, 2020 6:59 pm

zenguitar wrote:Is it possible that GrandPianoV is modelling a stretch tuned concert grand piano?

Andy :beamup:

Stretch tuning is very subtle and I don’t think it would make notes sound out of tune. But I could be completely wrong. It’s worth checking out Andy’s suggestion.

Adrian, do other patches beside the pianos on your keyboard sound in or out of tune to you? Do you tune your guitars by ear or using a tuner?
RichardT
Regular

Postby wireman » Wed Aug 05, 2020 7:48 pm

Very stange.

I can buy G to B (up 2 octaves) sounding out of tune as equal temperament has quite an error for the major thrid. If this was the case using C (better) or D (even better) top notes would sound nicer.

But C to E should be the same.

Has the keyboard been set to some strange tuning?
wireman