You are here

D50 screen shows weird characters

For fans of synths, pianos or keyboard instruments of any sort.

Moderator: Moderators

D50 screen shows weird characters

Postby nwns » Thu Nov 26, 2020 8:15 pm

Hi

Just got a Roland D50 and the screen is behaving weirdly, shows a few normal characters but mainly a bit weird.

Any ideas?

Image
nwns
Poster
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 12:00 am

Re: D50 screen shows weird characters

Postby desmond » Thu Nov 26, 2020 8:17 pm

Does the D50 otherwise work ok?

Have you tried resetting/initialising it? Have you replaced the battery at all?
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11114
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio

Re: D50 screen shows weird characters

Postby BJG145 » Thu Nov 26, 2020 8:23 pm

^^^

I expect a fresh battery and a reset would sort it, though from a quick look on Google you might need to restore the factory patches via Sysex.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=THhlkBz--e0
User avatar
BJG145
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4918
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 12:00 am

Re: D50 screen shows weird characters

Postby nwns » Thu Nov 26, 2020 9:26 pm

Is there a factory reset option for the D50? I couldn't find it.

Yes it works perfectly other than that.

Vendor said it recently had a battery and it clearly worked before he shipped it, I'll try a new battery anyway as it's easy. I don't really want to have to return it... I love a D50 :-)
nwns
Poster
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 12:00 am

Re: D50 screen shows weird characters

Postby desmond » Thu Nov 26, 2020 9:29 pm

First hit on Google:

Press and hold "SPACE" & "DATA TRANS" buttons while you power up. This only resets the D-50's system, it shouldn't reset the patches.
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11114
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio

Re: D50 screen shows weird characters

Postby nwns » Thu Nov 26, 2020 9:33 pm

:oops:

Roland's list of factory resets didn't have one
nwns
Poster
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 12:00 am

Re: D50 screen shows weird characters

Postby nwns » Thu Nov 26, 2020 9:42 pm

It didn't help though.

Will pop out and buy a CR2023 tomorrow.
nwns
Poster
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 12:00 am

Re: D50 screen shows weird characters

Postby nwns » Fri Nov 27, 2020 5:16 pm

Battery change not helped :-(
nwns
Poster
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 12:00 am

Re: D50 screen shows weird characters

Postby BJG145 » Fri Nov 27, 2020 5:20 pm

Having changed the battery, you'll now need to clear the memory...

https://www.sweetwater.com/sweetcare/ar ... -settings/

...then restore the factory patches via Sysex.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=THhlkBz--e0
User avatar
BJG145
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4918
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 12:00 am

Re: D50 screen shows weird characters

Postby Martin Walker » Sat Nov 28, 2020 3:17 pm

I actually had several patches in a commercial sound bank on my trusty Korg M1 that had been created using a 'randomiser' utility that put totally random numbers into all the parameters.

This resulted in both corrupted titles (like those you've currently got on your D50) and weird sound effects.

As others have said, resetting after installing a fresh battery should resolve your problem.


Martin
User avatar
Martin Walker
Moderator
Posts: 17140
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 9:44 am
Location: Cornwall, UK

Re: D50 screen shows weird characters

Postby BJG145 » Sat Nov 28, 2020 3:36 pm

Martin Walker wrote:I actually had several patches in a commercial sound bank on my trusty Korg M1 that had been created using a 'randomiser' utility that put totally random numbers into all the parameters. This resulted in both corrupted titles (like those you've currently got on your D50) and weird sound effects.

I expect you'd enjoy norns... ;)

(No, that's not garbage...that's the UI.)

Image
User avatar
BJG145
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4918
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 12:00 am

Re: D50 screen shows weird characters

Postby Martin Walker » Sun Nov 29, 2020 12:38 am

Norns - fascinating!

Now that reminds me that I really must create/record some proper music with my Gecho Loopsynth soon.

I have great fun doodling with it, but should treat it more seriously - like Luca Longobardi here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7fYzaDq5YR0

EDIT: And what should I spot a few seconds later from the same guy but Gecho Loopsynth into Norns!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z8B38bxAWg4


Martin
User avatar
Martin Walker
Moderator
Posts: 17140
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 9:44 am
Location: Cornwall, UK

Re: D50 screen shows weird characters

Postby Eddy Deegan » Sun Nov 29, 2020 12:51 am

I never owned a D50, but I did own a D10 and I have a feeling that the battery isn't the problem here. The corruption on the screen in the photos strays well beyond the data fields maintained by dynamic battery-backed memory.

If there is a chip/data fault it would be an issue with the ROM holding the hard-coded strings that form the labels for various voice parameters. As to which ROM that is or how to fix it I cannot say. The fact it works OK other than the display is probably a good sign but I'd be inclined to reach out to Roland and ask them for some input on which chip(s) to consider suspect.

They probably don't sell them any more but you might be able to find a dead or damaged D50 cheap on an auction site from which to salvage one or more replacement chips.

Before doing any of that, I'd be inclined to open up the case and see if there are any dry joints or cracks in the connections associated with the ribbon cable going to the LCD. It could be that the corruption isn't ROM based at all, but one or more bad connections are corrupting a bit or two of data being fed to the LCD, which would also explain the issue shown in the photos and would be a relatively easy fix (just renew the solder joints and/or add a fly-lead to cross a broken PCB track) if that was the case.
User avatar
Eddy Deegan
Moderator
Posts: 5545
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 12:00 am
Location: Brighton & Hove, UK
Some of my works
The SOS Forum Album projects
 

Re: D50 screen shows weird characters

Postby BJG145 » Sun Nov 29, 2020 9:14 am

If you power on while holding INCREMENT and the 0 SPACE button it should report ROM version and battery level, which may be a way to check the display circuit.
User avatar
BJG145
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4918
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 12:00 am

Re: D50 screen shows weird characters

Postby Folderol » Sun Nov 29, 2020 10:16 am

My first thought was defective ROM or display connections.
User avatar
Folderol
Jedi Poster
Posts: 12342
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2008 1:00 am
Location: The Mudway Towns, UK
Yes. I am that Linux nut.
Onwards and... err... sideways!

Next