You are here

Dumping sounds from the Roland SH01a to computer

For fans of synths, pianos or keyboard instruments of any sort.

Moderator: Moderators

Dumping sounds from the Roland SH01a to computer

Postby Stickman0_3 » Sat Jan 02, 2021 8:02 pm

Do I need to download a special program from Rolands website?
Stickman0_3
Regular
Posts: 178
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2016 1:38 pm
Location: Birmingham

Re: Dumping sounds from the Roland SH01a to computer

Postby desmond » Sat Jan 02, 2021 8:20 pm

Nothing about this in the manual?
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10871
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:00 am
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio

Re: Dumping sounds from the Roland SH01a to computer

Postby Stickman0_3 » Sat Jan 02, 2021 8:27 pm

OK, I have it now, I must have read it wrong. :headbang:
Stickman0_3
Regular
Posts: 178
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2016 1:38 pm
Location: Birmingham

Re: Dumping sounds from the Roland SH01a to computer

Postby Stickman0_3 » Fri Jan 08, 2021 6:30 pm

Hi, sorry to bring this up again.

After much head-scratching, I think I have this now. Is this the process?

1. Copy backup files from SH01a drive that shows up in “Documents” + “USB Drive” on my PC..
2. Place them on the desktop
3. Rename the folder to what I choose
4. Then, perform a Factory Restore on the SH01a - (I’m not interested in storing patterns)
Stickman0_3
Regular
Posts: 178
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2016 1:38 pm
Location: Birmingham

Re: Dumping sounds from the Roland SH01a to computer

Postby Stickman0_3 » Tue Jan 12, 2021 4:40 pm

Still not getting this guys, sorry.
Stickman0_3
Regular
Posts: 178
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2016 1:38 pm
Location: Birmingham

Re: Dumping sounds from the Roland SH01a to computer

Postby Stickman0_3 » Tue Jan 12, 2021 6:02 pm

OK, I think I’ve got this, but can someone clarify this for me please: -


1.Anything I program into the SH01a will appear in the SH01’s usb drive?

2.I then copy the sounds from the drive into a folder on my desktop, name the file (ie - file 1)?

3.Lastly, if I want to load “file 1” again, I copy those sounds from “file 1” into the Restore file?
Stickman0_3
Regular
Posts: 178
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2016 1:38 pm
Location: Birmingham

Re: Dumping sounds from the Roland SH01a to computer

Postby Stickman0_3 » Fri Jan 15, 2021 5:30 pm

Now, my SH01a's drive has disappeared, how can that be?
Stickman0_3
Regular
Posts: 178
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2016 1:38 pm
Location: Birmingham

Re: Dumping sounds from the Roland SH01a to computer

Postby Tomás Mulcahy » Fri Jan 15, 2021 5:44 pm

Stickman0_3 wrote:Now, my SH01a's drive has disappeared, how can that be?
Because you either:
(a) skipped step 1
(b) Ejected it
(c) Need a driver update (not likely if it worked the first time)
User avatar
Tomás Mulcahy
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1878
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Cork, Ireland.

Re: Dumping sounds from the Roland SH01a to computer

Postby Stickman0_3 » Fri Jan 15, 2021 5:46 pm

How do I get it back?
Stickman0_3
Regular
Posts: 178
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2016 1:38 pm
Location: Birmingham

Re: Dumping sounds from the Roland SH01a to computer

Postby Stickman0_3 » Fri Jan 15, 2021 6:36 pm

OK, I've got it back now. And I shall start again tomorrow.
Stickman0_3
Regular
Posts: 178
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2016 1:38 pm
Location: Birmingham