You are here

ASM Hydrasynth - what's happened?

For fans of synths, pianos or keyboard instruments of any sort.

Moderator: Moderators

Re: ASM Hydrasynth - what's happened?

Postby Eddy Deegan » Wed Jan 20, 2021 12:42 pm

The Elf wrote:All it needs is a third option - on/off/latch-off. Let's call that third option the 'I know what I'm doing' option. How about a big flashing 'LOCAL OFF' on start-up for the hard of understanding?

Sigh... It's this kind of nanny-save-me-from-myself design that has stopped me being able to create feedback loops in Cubase - something I used to find very useful. It is so depressing when we all have to suffer to accommodate ignorance.

I couldn't agree more mate ;)
User avatar
Eddy Deegan
Moderator
Posts: 5545
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 12:00 am
Location: Brighton & Hove, UK
Some of my works
The SOS Forum Album projects
 

Re: ASM Hydrasynth - what's happened?

Postby BJG145 » Wed Jan 20, 2021 12:50 pm

Eddy Deegan wrote:So far, they have refused to implement it on the premise that people turn off local control, forget, and then raise support requests because the synth isn't making any noise. This seems rather a poor excuse to me.

That is the stupidest thing I've ever heard. :headbang:

Elf is right, they have lost it.
User avatar
BJG145
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4918
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 12:00 am

Re: ASM Hydrasynth - what's happened?

Postby The Elf » Wed Jan 20, 2021 1:42 pm

Thanks, guys.

I just hope someone with connections to ASM is reading this and can make someone there see sense. :headbang:
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 16149
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: ASM Hydrasynth - what's happened?

Postby N i g e l » Wed Jan 20, 2021 1:58 pm

what they need is an option for Local Control remembered/forgotten which is set to forgotten by default factory settings.
:)
N i g e l
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1373
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2018 2:40 pm
Location: British Isles

Re: ASM Hydrasynth - what's happened?

Postby resistorman » Wed Jan 20, 2021 6:10 pm

What I would like is the ability to change the MPE range from 48.
User avatar
resistorman
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1218
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 1:00 am
Location: Asheville NC

Re: ASM Hydrasynth - what's happened?

Postby ManFromGlass » Wed Jan 20, 2021 7:21 pm

Elf - you’re creating midi feedback loops in Cubase on purpose? I might have mis-read.
User avatar
ManFromGlass
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4089
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 12:00 am
Location: O Canada

Re: ASM Hydrasynth - what's happened?

Postby The Elf » Wed Jan 20, 2021 7:38 pm

ManFromGlass wrote:Elf - you’re creating midi feedback loops in Cubase on purpose? I might have mis-read.
Not MIDI, no. I used to create audio feedback loops into which I would embed a delay, filter and distortion plug-ins. This way I could devise custom delays that would repeat and decay in a most appealing manner.
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 16149
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: ASM Hydrasynth - what's happened?

Postby ajay_m » Wed Jan 20, 2021 9:35 pm

The FB page is definitely alive so I wouldn't worry. They're a pretty small corner of Medeli. And probably scrambling to meet demand, this has been a great success in the market. As for the local on thing, Glen said that it was a major cause of returns for Arturia so it was a very deliberate decision. Since my Hydrasynth is hands down the most amazing synth I've ever owned and turned out to match the hype and expectations, I'm gonna say I'm ok with that.
ajay_m
Poster
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2017 8:08 pm

Re: ASM Hydrasynth - what's happened?

Postby The Elf » Wed Jan 20, 2021 10:35 pm

ajay_m wrote:As for the local on thing, Glen said that it was a major cause of returns for Arturia so it was a very deliberate decision.
And a questionable decision - there are better ways, as we've pointed out above.

You may be OK with it, but when you've got a studio full of synths and one has to be manually 'fixed' every time you power up it becomes wearing. I haven't had a synth default to local-on since my JX-8P in the mid 1980s!
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 16149
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: ASM Hydrasynth - what's happened?

Postby N i g e l » Thu Jan 21, 2021 12:32 am

are ASM at the virtual NAMM ?
N i g e l
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1373
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2018 2:40 pm
Location: British Isles

Re: ASM Hydrasynth - what's happened?

Postby CS70 » Thu Jan 21, 2021 12:15 pm

The Elf wrote:All it needs is a third option

The Third Way! Tony would approve. :D
User avatar
CS70
Jedi Poster
Posts: 7296
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 1:00 am
Location: Oslo, Norway
Silver Spoon - Check out our latest video and the FB page

Re: ASM Hydrasynth - what's happened?

Postby BobTheDog » Sat Jan 23, 2021 9:07 pm

The Elf wrote:
ajay_m wrote:As for the local on thing, Glen said that it was a major cause of returns for Arturia so it was a very deliberate decision.
And a questionable decision - there are better ways, as we've pointed out above.

You may be OK with it, but when you've got a studio full of synths and one has to be manually 'fixed' every time you power up it becomes wearing. I haven't had a synth default to local-on since my JX-8P in the mid 1980s!

Mines now disconnected, I’m fed up waiting for them to fix the bugs and their inability to answer emails. Terrible support.

As you say, if you have alternatives why make it difficult for yourself.
User avatar
BobTheDog
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1036
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 1:00 am

Re: ASM Hydrasynth - what's happened?

Postby The Elf » Sat Jan 23, 2021 9:53 pm

Well it's the only problem I have with it, and it's fairly minor in the scheme of things. No bugs found here. I'm very happy with it!
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 16149
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: ASM Hydrasynth - what's happened?

Postby Folderol » Sat Jan 23, 2021 10:18 pm

This may be a really really silly question, but can't you just wind the volume down to zero?
User avatar
Folderol
Jedi Poster
Posts: 12339
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2008 1:00 am
Location: The Mudway Towns, UK
Yes. I am that Linux nut.
Onwards and... err... sideways!

Re: ASM Hydrasynth - what's happened?

Postby BJG145 » Sat Jan 23, 2021 11:02 pm

Folderol wrote:This may be a really really silly question, but can't you just wind the volume down to zero?

It's more about ensuring that the controls on the synth have no direct effect on the parameters when it's being controlled by a different keyboard, or a DAW. Their FAQ note that: "MIDI local off...will fix a wide range of DAW/SEQ problems."
User avatar
BJG145
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4918
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 12:00 am

PreviousNext