You are here

CRT scope high voltage supply problem?

Customising, building or repairing your own gear? Need help with acoustic treatment or soundproofing? Ask away…

CRT scope high voltage supply problem?

Postby Adam Inglis » Sat Feb 01, 2014 10:44 am

The display on my 40-plus year old scope has gone dark.
I think the problem is in the high voltage (they refer to it as "EHT", extra high tension) supply. All the other power rails check out OK, however the -1000v line is only giving me around -185v or so.
I've repaired bits and pieces in this scope before in the low voltage circuits, but I have no HV experience. I believe the circuit is similar to that of an old TV flyback circuit, where an oscillator and a transformer generate a high frequency, high voltage AC that is rectified and filtered.
The schematic is here...
Any suggestions where to start fault finding in this old circuit?
Obviously I'm dealing with lethal voltages here and so being extra careful...!
Adam Inglis
Regular
Adam Inglis 
http://www.adambaby.com
Semi-Automatic
Funboys

Re: CRT scope high voltage supply problem?

Postby ef37a » Sat Feb 01, 2014 11:32 am

Hi Adam.
Well, unless you have a pacemaker or a history of heart trouble, those EHT supplies won't kill you. They will however bloody hurt!

Your first problem is measurement. Most DMMs only go to 600V dc, 1000V tops so you need to make up a
very high resistance attenuator. 9 meg Ohms (8.2M for jazz) in series with 1meg gives about 10:1 if the DMM has a 10meg input R. (yeah, not NPL I know but will do for an old scope!)

Then, if the 3kV and 1kV supplies ARE low the first suspect would be leaky caps IMO (if the diodes were short I would expect the osc' to collapse? ) Problem here is that whilst decoupling cap values are not usually critical, so long as they are big enough, in circuits such as this they will "tune" the oscillator and bigger caps might actually result in less volts or the osc' may fail to start at all.