You are here

soundproofing top floor

Customising, building or repairing your own gear? Need help with acoustic treatment or soundproofing? Ask away…

soundproofing top floor

Postby yaire » Sun Jan 28, 2018 8:24 pm

Hi all, long time reader and first time poster.

I want to isolate my first floor where I want to put my music activities in and not annoy the neigbours.
There used to be some great tutorials in the forum here but can't find them any more.
If anyone can point me to them I would already be very grateful.

I live in a house built around 1906 with a wooden floor and single brick wall to my neighbours.
They can hear me tapping on an electric drum set which is on an isolating drumriser.
So pretty terrible sound wise.

I am not experienced in construction work but will get some help from people.
Unfortunately these people know nothing about sound transfer/ isolation.
I live in the Netherlands so I need to source my materials on this side of the pond.

I want to keep this as cheap as possible but also effective.

I have some ideas how to do this but also have many questions. I hope you guys can aid me a bit.
Building period will be may - july and want to start planning/ budgetizing.

My plan:
1 sound proofing walls
2 sound proofing ceiling
3 sound proofing floor

I want to use Rockwool Rocksono Solid (45 kg/ m3) and Fermacell board (higher density than normal dry wall).
Is this a sensible choice or overkill?
Both the Rockwool and Fermacell are 60 cm wide. How do I go about making the wooden frame for the boards?
I can't put the Rockwool slabs between the wooden risers (or I have to cut a few cm off).
I could just glue the Rockwool to the wall and have a very thin wooden frame in front of it with the boards which results in a little air gap (good or bad?).
How do I keep the wooden frame from touching the floor/ ceiling? I see some solutions with coconutfibre strips.