You are here

Production studio acoustics first aid

Customising, building or repairing your own gear? Need help with acoustic treatment or soundproofing? Ask away…

Production studio acoustics first aid

Postby erkperk » Thu Jul 16, 2020 8:44 pm

Finally I'm getting a go at improving the acoustics of my music production space. I am a newbie at studio acoustics, which is why I am asking for feedback/advice in this forum before I go ahead. As described below my approach is a bit improvised with the aestetics in mind. Any advice is very welcome.

What I have

The music production room is a small cubicle space measuring
l w h = 3,67m x 3,75m x 2,7m

Currently the space has no acoustic treatment apart from furniture. The walls are
concrete and plasterboard, concrete ceiling and parquet floor.

The whole "back wall" consists of shelves with open wardrobe, books, records and magazines. From what I remember of Mike Seniors Mixing Secrets, shelves like this actually work ok as sound diffusors and absorbers, wich is good as I cannot really place any extra absorbers on this wall.

Position of the furniture are fixed, meaning I'd like to avoid moving those around. I know the listening spot isnt ideal, off the room center axis, and the speakers with "closed backs" (no rear facing bass ports) are placed on a desk only ca 20cm from the wall.

Goal

With these given circumstances I am looking for acoustical improvement by relatively small means, and also trying to find a solution I can live with in terms of aestetics (I prefer not having the whole space full of absorbers).

This is a DIY operation on a low budget.

Measurement

A friend helped me to measure the space at the sweet spot.

Screenshots from Room Eq Wizard:

REW mdat
http://levander.dk/korv/SOS/Jul 13 17_06_06.mdat

Theres is a number of spikes in the waterfall at the low frequencies 100Hz, 137Hz, 182Hz, 335Hz... A large RT60 peak at around 60Hz.

Further up in the the spectrum there is a peak at about 1,15Hz.