You are here

Acoustic treatment in flat room 12,5m2

Customising, building or repairing your own gear? Need help with acoustic treatment or soundproofing? Ask away…

Acoustic treatment in flat room 12,5m2

Postby Nequez » Sun Oct 04, 2020 10:10 am

Hi guys im willing to buy my first monitors, but im worried about my acoustic treatment, My room is 2,5x5m. I made a project of him, you can check it out here https://freeimage.host/i/2Wj3fp

I heard that if you clap your hand hard, and hear like metallic echo, that means that adaptation is bad, im no expert in it and would like to hear some opinion from more experienced people. Is additional treatment required or maybe it's good enough? How can i do it effectively better?

Also if u can reccomend what monitors should i buy? Im thinking about ADAM T5V and Eris 4,5
Nequez
Poster

Re: Acoustic treatment in flat room 12,5m2

Postby Sam Spoons » Sun Oct 04, 2020 11:21 am

The good news is that the bed will act as a bass trap, that's about it for good news though, 2.5 x 2.0 m is pretty small for a studio even without it being a bedroom too, secondly having the monitors equal distance from the side walls firing down the longer dimension of the room is usually better but that looks difficult in your space.

The metallic ringing s most likely a flutter echo between floor and ceiling and treating the ceiling above your listening position should make a big difference, I'd start with a couple of panels there and a panel above the TV where you have the words 'empty wall' and see how that improves the sound. We'd normally suggest 'mirror points' on the side walls too but I don't think that's practical in your room from your drawing.

The best option would be if you could move the room around to get your studio desk where the bed is now and treat the walls and ceiling mirror points but I understand that that may be impossible.