You are here

Fostex X-15 Help

Customising, building or repairing your own gear? Need help with acoustic treatment or soundproofing? Ask away…

Fostex X-15 Help

Postby forumuser845268 » Sat Oct 10, 2020 2:10 pm

Hello all,

On a whim I bought 2 Fostex X-15 4 track cassette recorders which were described as broken in different ways. I've been tinkering with them and found that one of them has a snapped oscillator PCB so is going to be a parts doner, and the other works well apart from no playback on track 3. It definitely records onto track 3 as when I flip the tape there is sound coming from track 2...

The machine with the broken PCB plays back on all 4 tracks, but only records onto 1+3.

This is beginning to sound like a riddle, apologies.

What I want to do is locate the issue on the machine with no playback on track 3, and replace the dodgy part/s with part/s from the doner machine.

The thing is I don't really know where to start with testing. I'm fairly new to this sort of tinkering but I'm good with a soldering iron and can use a multimeter so I think I can do this! I'm hoping someone might be aware of a common fault with these machines that I can try and find, or at least have some idea of where I should start looking and how to test the various parts of the circuit?

One thing to note that seems important is that there has clearly been a lot of heat around the top of the machine around channel 3 as there is a bit of melting going on! I'm guessing that is the cause of the lack of playback, but maybe someone would know more specifically which components would generate that much heat and why.

All and any help gratefully received!
forumuser845268

Re: Fostex X-15 Help

Postby Tim Gillett » Sat Oct 10, 2020 3:33 pm