You are here

Looking for help with speaker and treatment placement

Customising, building or repairing your own gear? Need help with acoustic treatment or soundproofing? Ask away…

Looking for help with speaker and treatment placement

Postby AlexWnbrg » Tue Oct 13, 2020 9:59 pm

Hey all.

I am brand new to the forum and also a total newb in the world of sound engineering and acoustics, so please excuse my lack of knowledge and potential at misusing terms. I am a life long musician, and am taking this opportunity of 0 gigs and work to try to set up a decent home studio and further teach myself how to properly mix so I can actually release music without having to pay an arm or a leg to hire an engineer.

I bought a pair of HS5s, and honestly, I did so without really doing much research into how to get the most out of them, so once I started down that rabbit hole, I realized I might have just wasted the money I spent on them due to a less than ideal listening environment. I want to give it a shot at setting up a decent room, at least decent enough for a beginner, before I throw in the towel and just sell them and buy a pair of nice monitoring headphones.

Here is the room I have to work with and where I have currently set up my speakers and listening position: