You are here

Extending Eurorack power to a second rack

Page 1 of 1

Extending Eurorack power to a second rack

PostPosted: Sat Oct 31, 2020 11:42 am
by Durr GaGa
Hi Folks,

I have a small Eurorack system based around two Mother 32s, a DFAM, a Subharmonicon and various typical Eurorack modules (Maths, Plaits, filter, Disting 4, Doepfer ADSR etc.)

When I started the project, I made the decision to only use 60HP boxes for aesthetic reasons (yeah, I know!) and the two that I have for my modules are powered by TipTop eZeus PSUs.

I am now considering adding a Behringer 960 Sequencer module which takes up 56HP leaving exactly enough room for another eZeus PSU. However, with the case AND the PSU, the Behringer starts getting a little expensive so I wanted to use some of the spare current capacity in one of the other racks to power just the 960 which draws +12v 100mA and -12v 50 mA. My plan is to make up two 4HP modules, both with a 180° 5 pin DIN socket, one (power OUT) with a 10pin IDC socket and the other (power IN) with a 16 pin IDC socket suitably connected internally. This would allow me use two standard Eurorack 10-16 pin ribbon cables, one to connect the power out module to the eZeus bus and the other to connect to the 960 in the second rack. I would then use a standard MIDI cable to connect the two units together (remaining mindful of NOT EVER connecting MIDI to either in the future!). This would save a lot of money.....

I have some questions:-

1. Would this be likely to induce any hum loops or other unwanted noise artefacts?

2. If the answer to 1. is YES, would making up my own DIN cable using a shield and 5 core audio cable resolve the issue?

3. Is this the stupidest idea ever?

Some advice from those in the know would every much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Re: Extending Eurorack power to a second rack

PostPosted: Sat Oct 31, 2020 4:39 pm
by resistorman
Not an expert, but it seems like it should work. Just popped in to suggest using XLR connectors since you only need +/-12v. More secure connection and less likely to mistakenly plug midi in.

Re: Extending Eurorack power to a second rack

PostPosted: Sat Oct 31, 2020 5:16 pm
by zenguitar
The MIDI spec requires MIDI ins and outs to be opto-isolated. So there shouldn't be any risk of accidentally blowing anything up.

Andy :beamup:

Re: Extending Eurorack power to a second rack

PostPosted: Sat Oct 31, 2020 11:26 pm
by Durr GaGa
resistorman wrote:Not an expert, but it seems like it should work. Just popped in to suggest using XLR connectors since you only need +/-12v. More secure connection and less likely to mistakenly plug midi in.

Thank you, for that - great advice about using XLR connectors as this would be much safer!

zenguitar wrote:The MIDI spec requires MIDI ins and outs to be opto-isolated. So there shouldn't be any risk of accidentally blowing anything up.

Andy :beamup:

Indeed, they should be protected thanks for your input.