You are here

dummy 13a plug with earth

Customising, building or repairing your own gear? Need help with acoustic treatment or soundproofing? Ask away…

Re: dummy 13a plug with earth

Postby Folderol » Mon Nov 16, 2020 7:50 pm

N i g e l wrote:CPC sell the yellow plastic grounding plugs in different versions, 0 ohm or including 1M Ohm resistor, Stud or binding post.

Sam Spoons wrote:Now, the guy Dave is trying to help may be in the US which would change things a little.

Somewhat !

CPC are Farnell and might have a USA option in their USA store.
I got "Access Denied" when I tried to look.
These days they are very fussy about the browser you use - idiots!
Vivaldi works for me,
User avatar
Folderol
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11749
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2008 1:00 am
Location: The Mudway Towns, UK
Yes. I am that Linux nut.
Onwards and... err... sideways!

Re: dummy 13a plug with earth

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Mon Nov 16, 2020 7:51 pm

Groundology don't appear to do a specific USA plug... just an international adapter one which has an mode for the US:

https://www.groundology.co.uk/earthing/earth-connection-plug-ww
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 29131
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound

Re: dummy 13a plug with earth

Postby ef37a » Mon Nov 16, 2020 8:01 pm

I have sent the guy a link to the CPC plug, best I can do I think?

Dave.
ef37a
Jedi Poster
Posts: 12298
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 12:00 am
Location: northampton uk

Re: dummy 13a plug with earth

Postby Moroccomoose » Mon Nov 16, 2020 8:04 pm

I just googled 'ESD strap plug' and various options came up ranging from £4 to £20. Or did I miss something?


Edit.... yes I did miss something... its a US one yer after. That will teach me to read the thread more thoroughly! :beamup:
Moroccomoose
Regular
Posts: 283
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 12:00 am
Location: Staffordshire
 

Re: dummy 13a plug with earth

Postby wireman » Mon Nov 16, 2020 8:08 pm

ef37a wrote:Know what I mean sport?

A plug with no live or neutral connections but a solid connection to the earth pin.

What for?
wireman
Frequent Poster
Posts: 562
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 1:00 am

Re: dummy 13a plug with earth

Postby N i g e l » Mon Nov 16, 2020 8:23 pm

Folderol wrote:These days they are very fussy about the browser you use - idiots!
Vivaldi works for me,

bah !!!!

RS components USA have a thing....

https://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/esd-grou ... s/2877559/

Still a helluva price though !
N i g e l
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1140
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2018 2:40 pm
Location: British Isles

Re: dummy 13a plug with earth

Postby Martin Walker » Tue Nov 17, 2020 2:52 am

blinddrew wrote:
Martin Walker wrote:
Sam Spoons wrote:My inclination would be to make one from a standard plug top. Maybe encapsulate the live and neutral pins internally in epoxy so there is no risk of the earth wire becoming detached and making contact with the live?

I do have slight reservations WRT safety so what does the 'hive mind' think?

I did make one for exploratory use, although I consider myself an experienced user. That idea about epoxy is probably a sensible one for general purpose safety though.


Martin
I just followed Hugh's tip and used a couple of rounds of heatshrink.

I was going to suggest heatshrink, except that the MK mains plugs I tend to use have live and neutral pins that are a firm fit in their sockets, so you couldn't push them back in with heatshrink shrunk onto them.


Martin
User avatar
Martin Walker
Moderator
Posts: 16696
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 9:44 am
Location: Cornwall, UK

Re: dummy 13a plug with earth

Postby Sam Spoons » Tue Nov 17, 2020 12:32 pm

wireman wrote:
ef37a wrote:Know what I mean sport?

A plug with no live or neutral connections but a solid connection to the earth pin.

What for?

Getting a good earth into a floating system, say a laptop and bus powered interface. It's not a problem if something in the rig has a 'proper' earth, say through an IEC power plug but many laptop PSUs don't pass the earth connection to the computer.
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 14015
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: dummy 13a plug with earth

Postby James Perrett » Tue Nov 17, 2020 3:46 pm

Sam Spoons wrote: but many laptop PSUs don't pass the earth connection to the computer.

Or, if they do, it possibly isn't as low impedance as it needs to be.
User avatar
James Perrett
Moderator
Posts: 9947
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2001 12:00 am
Location: The wilds of Hampshire
JRP Music - Audio Mastering and Restoration. JRP Music Facebook Page

Re: dummy 13a plug with earth

Postby wireman » Tue Nov 17, 2020 7:07 pm

Sam Spoons wrote:
wireman wrote:
ef37a wrote:Know what I mean sport?

A plug with no live or neutral connections but a solid connection to the earth pin.

What for?

Getting a good earth into a floating system, say a laptop and bus powered interface. It's not a problem if something in the rig has a 'proper' earth, say through an IEC power plug but many laptop PSUs don't pass the earth connection to the computer.

OK, then. I would just look for a plug that is designed so that the end of the fuse connected to the live pin is encapsulated in the plug top when screwed in. The other end and the fuse would not be needed. It would be pretty unlikely for the earth wire to come loose and hit the live but as far as is possible this should be prevented. Covering up with something insulated or using a directly connected ESD plug would also be an option. If the plan is to make a wander lead then it would make sense to use a short segment of full 3-core cable with insulation at the plug end to get good clamping (for plug styles like the MK safetyplug).
wireman
Frequent Poster
Posts: 562
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 1:00 am

Re: dummy 13a plug with earth

Postby Martin Walker » Tue Nov 17, 2020 9:39 pm

James Perrett wrote:
Sam Spoons wrote: but many laptop PSUs don't pass the earth connection to the computer.

Or, if they do, it possibly isn't as low impedance as it needs to be.

Very good point James - sometimes a 'decent' earth connection can largely resolve the audible problems caused by a ground loop.


Martin
User avatar
Martin Walker
Moderator
Posts: 16696
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 9:44 am
Location: Cornwall, UK

Previous