You are here

My first orchestral, tips very much appreciated

Arrangement, instrumentation, lyric writing, music theory, inspiration… it’s all here.

My first orchestral, tips very much appreciated

Postby Ron Snijders » Tue May 21, 2013 10:41 pm

Hello all,

Having no idea if an introduction is appropriate, I'll keep it to a very short one, not to offend anyone :) I'm Ron (as my user name implies), I've been a musician for around 20 years now (started out at 7), but only got into production around half a year ago. Last weekend, I decided that it was time to stop messing around and actually finish a track, and I actually managed to do so. But now I'm obviously curious about what more experienced people think of it. As much as my ego loves the Likes and 'Nice'-posts on Facebook, those are not really going to help me get any better :)

This post is becoming way longer than I had intended, so in short: any critique is welcome, especially if it's helpful! :)

And let's not forget the actual track:

https://soundcloud.com/ron-snijders/for-no-one-in-particular
Ron Snijders
Regular

Re: My first orchestral, tips very much appreciated

Postby Exalted Wombat » Wed May 22, 2013 9:54 am

You've fallen rather into the "constant tempo, keep repeating something, layering more stuff on top" trap. This is what sequencer programs encourage you to do. Is it really what your music demands?

Nice ideas in the opening section. Could the string line have a little more independence from the piano? And it needs to "breathe" at times - the bow never leaves the string.

What sort of music do you play?
Exalted Wombat
Jedi Poster
You don't have to write songs. The world doesn't want you to write songs. It would probably prefer it if you didn't. So write songs if you want to. Otherwise, dont. Go fishing instead.

Postby DAGGILARR » Wed May 22, 2013 1:50 pm