You are here

Playing & Singing

Arrangement, instrumentation, lyric writing, music theory, inspiration… it’s all here.

Playing & Singing

Postby Ian Shaw » Tue Oct 27, 2015 7:41 pm

Hi All,
Hope this is the right forum to ask this.

Just recently getting back into playing after some years break ( kids & computers, mostly) & would like some advice on playing & singing at the same time. I can do both reasonably well on their own but have always struggled doing both beyond simple strumming & singing over the top.
Are there any tips, practice methods, advice on doing more intricate playing & singing together?
I am a self taught classical player trying to loosen up & play a more percussive fingerpicking style.

Any help would be appreciated

Thanks

Ian
Ian Shaw
Regular
Sent by carrier pigeon

Re: Playing & Singing

Postby Sam Inglis » Tue Oct 27, 2015 8:07 pm

I think two things are key to doing this:

(1) Practice (and experience), and

(2) Knowing the material really really well.

If you haven't properly memorised the tune or words, or you're fumbling over the guitar chords, it makes combining the two so much harder. The ideal is to practice and learn each part separately until they're second nature.
Sam Inglis
Frequent Poster (Level2)

Postby ConcertinaChap » Tue Oct 27, 2015 9:51 pm

In my case it's singing songs with concertina accompaniment. I find that in order to do justice to the song I have to be able to practice the accompaniment until it is almost totally automatic. I can then concentrate on singing the song with the feeling and interpretation I want. Others (particularly better musicians) may be able to vamp the accompaniment readily, but I can't do that, it has to be this way for me.

CC
ConcertinaChap
Jedi Poster
Making music: Eagle Alley, recording music: Mr Punch's Studio
For more information please re-read.

Postby Rich Hanson » Wed Oct 28, 2015 10:11 am