You are here

[Electronic Pop] My latest song – feedback much appreciated

Arrangement, instrumentation, lyric writing, music theory, inspiration… it’s all here.

[Electronic Pop] My latest song – feedback much appreciated

Postby markusrothko » Sun Nov 13, 2016 4:31 pm

Hi all,

I have been making DIY electronic pop for a couple of years now and feel that I'm nearly ready to take it to the next level. My skill is starting to catch up with my taste. For good or bad! Below is a link to my latest song. The end goal of all this is get a few strong demos together that I can send out to some labels.

Whilst making I'll Meet You There I was listening to the early Daft Punk albums, LCD Soundsystem's more melancholy songs and 90's dance music. Plus loads of Shoegaze. And Leonard Cohen on repeat.

https://soundcloud.com/markusbowie/ill-meet-you-there

Hope you like. Or if you don't, tell me why.

And thanks for reading this!

All the best,
Markus
markusrothko

Re: [Electronic Pop] My latest song – feedback much appreciated

Postby lachha » Mon Nov 14, 2016 2:09 am

Hi Markus!

I was reading on Forbes (as one does) about why no one wants to help one (see my recent failed post, feedback appreciated!)
http://www.forbes.com/sites/susannahbre ... 9868a9dc55

Now when you ask other musicians to listen it can get a bit uber-critical, but you have requested feedback so here goes. My other worldly and uninformed opinion for free:

The bassline could really lift it when it comes in (0.47), I think the bass should be more bassier and emphasised in the mix (I am listening on Sony MDR-7506 headphones), the bassline sounds like a tenor at the moment.

the chord sequence (0.02) is too pronounced throughout the whole song for my taste. It is simple which is good but because of it being simple I would prefer it quieter, just something going round & round in your head in the background which you are only just aware of.