You are here

Dalmatian Nights - Orchestral piece - What do u think?

Arrangement, instrumentation, lyric writing, music theory, inspiration… it’s all here.

Dalmatian Nights - Orchestral piece - What do u think?

Postby TSWO » Sat Nov 26, 2016 10:12 pm

This is my first attempt on writting something instrumental for a classical style orchestra. It took a lot of time to program everything in the studio to make it sound as if played by a real orchestra.

Did we get near that or does it sound too midi-ish?

Other than that what do u think about the music?

https://soundcloud.com/tswo/dalmatian-nights

https://youtu.be/8xBGlZt2-R4

Enjoy!
TSWO
New here

Re: Dalmatian Nights - Orchestral piece - What do u think?

Postby petev3.1 » Sun Nov 27, 2016 12:11 pm

I liked the piece and it all seemed to work well. I found the overall sound quite hard on the ears. A bit bright maybe?
petev3.1
Frequent Poster

Postby Guest » Sun Nov 27, 2016 5:03 pm

Sounded very midi-ish. I can kinda imagine it working better with a small live ensemble. A few guitars, upright bass and accordion kinda thing. I think you need real instruments in order to make it work. Got a bit of a restaurant vibe to it.

IMO of course. It's all subjective innit.

Postby TSWO » Fri Dec 02, 2016 6:46 pm

Thank you guys for the comments!

@Petev3.1 yes I think I agree with you, I will amp the bass frequencies a little and maybe cut some of the treble if I releash this commercially ;)

@SaltyDog Well, the point of this ochestration is/was to do a "restaurant" piece in a more subbtle/sophisticated way... Like a classical orchestra goes jazz-club style, and not the opposite (a small jazz ensemble going crazy with counterpoint). But thank you.

And I sure wish I could afford the 12 musicians that are required (at least) to record it live :p (it has 5 strings, 3 woods, 3 brasses +piano)

:)
TSWO
New here

Postby job » Fri Dec 02, 2016 8:27 pm