You are here

Writing songs over old backing tracks with own lyrics

Arrangement, instrumentation, lyric writing, music theory, inspiration… it’s all here.

Writing songs over old backing tracks with own lyrics

Postby adeshady13 » Fri Jun 30, 2017 2:38 pm

Hi all,

I've been singing now for the last 10 years, I've just done covers and never really looked any further.
However I recently started to learn to play piano, of which I'm not very good at however I need to invest a lot more time into it..

However I've also recently taken to doing a bit of writing, not music just lyrics.

without knowing how to write actual music I've taken songs and used the backings for them and style to write in my own lyrics..
I thought it would be a unique way of putting my feelings down and I think it worked.
So far I wrote my leaving speech for a previous place of work using Take That's never forget and I wrote eulogy for my best friend who recently passed away, he was a massive Tenacious D fan, and so I changed the lyrics of Kickapoo to suit some of his key points in his life that we spent together etc..

Basically what I'm asking is if I wanted to progress whats the best way to go about it?
Taking a song that I know very well and changing the lyrics I find quite a challenging but at the same time I have direction..

How do I do it without that in place, or is it acceptable as just a writer to take the backing of a different song and change it to suit my lyrics??

hope this makes sense

Thanks
adeshady13
New here

Re: Writing songs over old backing tracks with own lyrics

Postby The Elf » Fri Jun 30, 2017 8:53 pm

If you're just doing this for your own fun and education at home that's one thing, but if you aspire to doing anything with your creations beyond your four walls you could be in a world of pain.

Just go and make your own music - that way you'll improve at what you do and you'll also avoid doing anything that might drop you in the legal bear pit.
The Elf
Jedi Poster