You are here

3.5mm to 1/4" Distortion

For performing musicians and engineers: stagecraft, engineering and gear.

Moderator: Moderators

3.5mm to 1/4" Distortion

Postby steakandlemonade » Thu Mar 23, 2017 4:11 am

Hello,

Live audio newbie here so please bear with me. I hope the question is relatively simple for you all to answer/point me in the right direction with. I'd very much appreciate it.

I have a Behringer Xenyx 1202 mixer. I have historically used 3.5mm to RCAs (with L/R 1/4 adapters) to plug in iPod, iPad, and Surface Pro 3 without any problems into the 5/6, 7/8, 9/10, 11/12 inputs. I receive clean, clear sound.

In the hopes to "clean up" my board, I bought three "Stereo Intercomnnect 3.5mm TRS to 1/4 in TRS" from Hosa. My objective was to instead of having a bunch RCA's with adapters going the lefts and rights, I would have a single 1/4 into the balanced input(s) and have my Surface Pro going into the Mic 4 input, allowing me the ability to change the EQ's for such. Unfortunately, when using these new Hosa 3.5mm TRS to 1/4 TRS in any of the inputs, I am loosing a ton of quality and the sound is very distorted and is certainly not clear.

What did I do wrong? What do I need to buy to fix this problem?

Thank you very much for the help.
steakandlemonade

Re: 3.5mm to 1/4" Distortion

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Thu Mar 23, 2017 10:56 am

You have fallen into the classic 'stereo unbalanced output into a mono balanced input' trap!

You're not the first and won't be the last -- it's a very common mistake.

The output from the iPod or whatever on a 3.5mm TRS plug carries the left channel on the tip, the right channel on the ring, and a shared common ground reference on the sleeve.

If the cable has a single TRS plug at the end then those same signals will appear on the same parts of the larger A-type plug.