You are here

Turn It Up, We Can't Hear You At The Back!

For performing musicians and engineers: stagecraft, engineering and gear.

Turn It Up, We Can't Hear You At The Back!

Postby SwingKing » Mon Sep 25, 2017 1:04 pm

I've been performing for ten years now, still using the same rig as when I started. Thankfully, everything is still in working order and I'm still playing the same size venues as when I started (pubs, halls and social clubs of a weekend and care homes during the week) but clearly I've forgotten a lot of what I once knew because lately I've been getting complaints that people can't hear me.

I'm a solo swing singer with backing tracks and I'm using a Yamaha EMX312SC powered mixer amp with two Peavey Pro-15 speakers. I used to use a stage monitor but it started to get a little crammed for space (you know what these pubs are like: they give you five square feet to perform in and expect it to sound like Madison Square Gardens) so I stopped using it and I think that's where the problem lies.

I'm not in the market to upgrade my gear (I'd love an EMX512SC but I'd need to get more powerful speakers to handle it and there's just no budget for that right now) so I'm wondering if a workaround would be to get longer speaker cables so I can put them further away from me (quite often, they're only a few feet either side of me) and bring back the monitor.

It's only swing - not exactly an evening of Motorhead's greatest hits - but I appreciate the audience need to hear it loud and if I don't get things sorted soon, I'm going to start losing work.

Does my workaround sound feasible? The other option is to buy two more speakers and daisy chain them but wouldn't that just diminish the overall volume?
SwingKing
Regular

Re: Turn It Up, We Can't Hear You At The Back!

Postby ore_terra » Mon Sep 25, 2017 1:40 pm