You are here

Need piano advice!

For performing musicians and engineers: stagecraft, engineering and gear.

Need piano advice!

Postby smithjr » Wed Feb 21, 2018 5:57 pm

Hey there, guys! Is anybody here, who know anything about piano?
smithjr
New here

Re: Need piano advice!

Postby Dave B » Wed Feb 21, 2018 6:05 pm

One or two people hereabouts might just know the odd thing or two ... ;)
Dave B
Jedi Poster
Veni, Vidi, Aesculi (I came, I saw, I conkered)

Postby smithjr » Wed Feb 21, 2018 6:10 pm

Now you'll understand why I am asking this way...I'm learning to play piano and I have Sohmer Baby Grand 1960 Piano. My teacher has Steinway piano...And the difference is amazing! Steinway plays so smoothly, and the key stroke is short and smooth (unlike my piano). It sounds much more better!! I can afford a Steinway or something like this.., but I wonder if, as a beginner, I really need such a nice piano, how do you think? One more question - what's the difference between horizontal and vertical piano? What about the sound? Is there any difference or no?
smithjr
New here

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Wed Feb 21, 2018 7:03 pm

I've removed your subsequent duplicate post as well as the embedded link because, as a newcomer, it looked a lot like an attempt at spamming and didn't actually add anything useful to your question. Please also note that newcomers' posts are held in a moderation queue, and the time taken to process them can vary from nearly instantaneous to a few hours depending on the time of day and availability of moderators on the site. Please be patient. Only the first three posts pass through the moderation system.

Now, your question: Horizontal (grand) pianos and vertical (upright) pianos are obviously constructed differently, have differently shaped frames and sound-boards, and may also have different numbers of strings per note in different note regions -- amongst many other less obvious variations. So naturally, they sound quite different.