You are here

Center Speaker

For performing musicians and engineers: stagecraft, engineering and gear.

Center Speaker

Postby petern » Thu Apr 26, 2018 4:32 pm

Hi all,

New here, and though I have plenty of experience I have some fundamental questions.

Can someone explain, or perhaps better, point to information as to what the ramifications are regarding what I'll call "center channels" in live sound? In many shows (I do mostly folk shows), I like to add a hot spot style speaker at center stage, especially for the vocals, as I fine the mains to be too far removed to provide vocals both clarity and the right "location" especiallly for audience close to the stage.

My understanding is there can be some theoretical issues regarding sound waves and the combing effect, but certainly it simply sounds better (to me at least) when I add a "hot spot".

With home and theater sound systems having center channels, this has to be OK to a degree, though I don't know if there is additional technology that addresses any issues like combing. I assume there isn't a "crossover" type technique that simply pulls frequencies for the center channel.
petern
New here
Peter N. - Live sound & recording for years. Self-taught, & learning from others. All thoughts welcomed, especially from those with in-depth training, understanding, & experience. Certainly chime in regardless; we are here to learn.

Re: Center Speaker

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Thu Apr 26, 2018 5:11 pm

Comb-filtering is only going to be a (potential) problem if you route the same sound into more than one speaker at similar levels. If you use the centre speaker only for vocals, and don't put vocals in the sides, there won't be a problem at all!