You are here

How to put a value on PA/sound?

For performing musicians and engineers: stagecraft, engineering and gear.

How to put a value on PA/sound?

Postby Funkyflash5 » Tue Aug 21, 2018 3:55 am

Hi all,

I'm primarily a musician, but I also dabble in both recording and live sound, so when I gained a rehearsal space this past year I invested in a decent system to use for foldback during rehearsals and be able to supply when a band I'm in has a gig at a venue that doesn't have it's own. It also doubles as a recording interface for both live gig recording and to be able to do demos if we feel so inclined.

Last month a friend needed a system and tech for a small to medium gig with a "local hero" type, and because of who it was and that I would have the chance to actual run my system from FOH for the first time I was happy to do it on the relatively cheap. Today I got a message from another friend who is helping pull together a band for an event this Sunday that is being run by a non-profit group who is fresh out of favors in my book. I'm happy to play in the band with my friend, but the organizers have got wind that I've got the gear, and are offering half of what I charged the last time to haul out and set up my system.