You are here

Is AES50 required on X32?

For performing musicians and engineers: stagecraft, engineering and gear.

Is AES50 required on X32?

Postby MNsoundguy » Mon Aug 27, 2018 6:34 pm

Hello SOS community. First post here so go easy on me.

We currently have a Yamaha O1V96 running a digital snake from the stage. I don't know the specifics of the snake hardware nor the protocol it's running on. Have a new replacement X32 arriving tomorrow.

My question is this: Does the X32 require AES50 as the only available protocol? If so, would our O1V96 eliminate the possibility of our current snake running on AES50? What I'm ultimately trying to determine is if we need to also buy a new snake.

Thanks for your help! I tried looking this info up, but it was hard to find a definitive answer.
MNsoundguy
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2018 6:31 pm

Re: Is AES50 required on X32?

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Mon Aug 27, 2018 7:08 pm

While the X32 is designed to integrate closely with its own AES50-based snake system, it can sometimes be persuaded to work with some alternative digital snake systems too.

But really, to answer your question we really are going to need to know precisely what your current digital snake system is and/or the connection protocol it uses.
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 23416
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound

Re: Is AES50 required on X32?

Postby ultrapilot » Tue Jan 01, 2019 11:13 pm

both consoles, yamaha and behringer use different protocols, I know that the x32 can be equipped with a Dante card. There is also an AES50 to Dante conversion interface on the market, which was initially conceived for Midas consoles. The protocol used by Yamaha is not very flexible in terms of compatibility.
ultrapilot
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2019 11:09 pm

Re: Is AES50 required on X32?

Postby AlecSp » Thu Jan 03, 2019 5:39 pm

While it's possible that you might be able to persuade your existing stagebox to work with a Dante equipped X32, bear in mind that the Dante card costs around £400 - and you can by a S16 for £430 or an S32 for £613.

With these prices, is it really worth trying to force something together, rather than getting a fully compatible system? Note, you might need to replace the cat5 cable to optimise performance (meeting Behringer specs).

Also, you might be surprised what the Yamaha kit would raise on eBay - it was never cheap, and may well pay for the replacement.
AlecSp
Regular
Posts: 310
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 1:00 am


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users