You are here

Is AES50 required on X32?

For performing musicians and engineers: stagecraft, engineering and gear.

Is AES50 required on X32?

Postby MNsoundguy » Mon Aug 27, 2018 5:34 pm

Hello SOS community. First post here so go easy on me.

We currently have a Yamaha O1V96 running a digital snake from the stage. I don't know the specifics of the snake hardware nor the protocol it's running on. Have a new replacement X32 arriving tomorrow.

My question is this: Does the X32 require AES50 as the only available protocol? If so, would our O1V96 eliminate the possibility of our current snake running on AES50? What I'm ultimately trying to determine is if we need to also buy a new snake.

Thanks for your help! I tried looking this info up, but it was hard to find a definitive answer.
MNsoundguy
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2018 5:31 pm

Re: Is AES50 required on X32?

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Mon Aug 27, 2018 6:08 pm

While the X32 is designed to integrate closely with its own AES50-based snake system, it can sometimes be persuaded to work with some alternative digital snake systems too.

But really, to answer your question we really are going to need to know precisely what your current digital snake system is and/or the connection protocol it uses.
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 21547
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users