You are here

Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

For performing musicians and engineers: stagecraft, engineering and gear.

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby blinddrew » Sun Nov 04, 2018 11:19 am

Is it really only 48kHz recording though? This has been on my 'potentials' list but that would scupper things.
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10183
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby Ramirez » Sun Nov 04, 2018 12:17 pm

blinddrew wrote:Is it really only 48kHz recording though? This has been on my 'potentials' list but that would scupper things.


It really is, and its bloody annoying.
In practise, its not too much much of a concern for me, but its the only interface I've ever come across that's fixed at 48kHz. I don't like that one piece of equipment forces me to work at one particular sample rate, as I very often move projects between different studios, locations and interfaces.
I use Reaper and it transparently deals with any sample rate conversion needed, and I don't notice any loss of quality for it, but its still an unnecessary processing stage that the UI forces on you.

From what I understand most digital mixers operate internally at 48kHz, which goes some way towards explaining why 48 and not 44.1 (as the UI doesn't have any features that seem to gear it towards sound-for-video).

It should be a fairly simple fimware/driver upgrade, I presume, but that doesn't mean they'll do it. All the competing products seem to offer at least 44.1kHz as well - which is what I want - and I guess the lack of 88.2 / 96 kHz option may well put other users off.


Don't get me wrong, its a great piece of kit, and it does do a whole lot for a great price. There are just a couple of oversights (and they don't seem cost-related either) that could be a simple software fix.
Ramirez
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1066
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Bethesda, Cymru
Bill Withers while Tom Waits, and Stan Getz

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby blinddrew » Sun Nov 04, 2018 12:27 pm

Hmmm. And indeed, harumph.
Oh well, I'm in no rush, other options may arise twixt now and my looking to upgrade.
Thanks for the confirmation.
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10183
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby The Elf » Sun Nov 04, 2018 2:17 pm

Fixed 48kHz is a silly restriction, and you really have to wonder what designers are thinking of when they build that kind of limitation in. :roll:
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 14273
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby Sam Spoons » Sun Nov 04, 2018 3:05 pm

You can't go far wrong with an X32 of some flavour Elf ;) Buy an SD8/16 and your stage box needs are sorted too.
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 12215
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Mon Nov 05, 2018 11:19 am

Ramirez wrote:From what I understand most digital mixers operate internally at 48kHz...

That would be news to me! ;)

It should be a fairly simple fimware/driver upgrade, I presume...

Nope. The sample rate for the converters is normally derived from a physical crystal in the hardware unit. Given the very complex mathematical relationship between 44.1 and 48k, products that are required to switch between the different rates normally have two crystals, one for all the rates related to 44.1, and the other for all the rates related to 48, plus all the associated circuitry to buffer, divide, and switch between these two clock sources.

So unless that circuitry and the dual crystals were built into the Ui24 hardware it's extremely unlikely that any firmware/software update will add the versatility you seek!

H
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 27033
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby Ramirez » Mon Nov 05, 2018 2:45 pm

Hugh Robjohns wrote:
Ramirez wrote:From what I understand most digital mixers operate internally at 48kHz...

That would be news to me! ;)

It should be a fairly simple fimware/driver upgrade, I presume...

Nope. The sample rate for the converters is normally derived from a physical crystal in the hardware unit. Given the very complex mathematical relationship between 44.1 and 48k, products that are required to switch between the different rates normally have two crystals, one for all the rates related to 44.1, and the other for all the rates related to 48, plus all the associated circuitry to buffer, divide, and switch between these two clock sources.

So unless that circuitry and the dual crystals were built into the Ui24 hardware it's extremely unlikely that any firmware/software update will add the versatility you seek!

H

Ah! Thank you Hugh. In that case I'll stop worrying about it. Is 48kHz-only equipment more common than I've thought? It always struck me as a strange design choice on the UI24R. I've always assumed that, since even the very cheapest AIs seem to offer both 44.1 and 48 that it was a trivial matter, but now I see that functionality needs to be designed into the hardware, as you point out.

I don't know why I thought that most mixer operate at 48kHz - perhaps its something I read about the X32/M32 series. My apologies for spreading lies!
Ramirez
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1066
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Bethesda, Cymru
Bill Withers while Tom Waits, and Stan Getz

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Mon Nov 05, 2018 4:07 pm

Ramirez wrote:Is 48kHz-only equipment more common than I've thought?

Equipment designed specifically for the broadcast industry may well operate with a fixed 48kHz sample rate (because of the need to be synchronous with video frame rates), but most manufacturers design their products for sale in the widest possible range of markets, and hence tend to build in options for different sample rates.

H
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 27033
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby plodsmeade » Thu Nov 15, 2018 12:55 am

Dave Rowles wrote:I've not managed to overload the inputs on it as yet

you're obviously not trying hard enough
plodsmeade
Regular
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 1:00 am

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Thu Nov 15, 2018 1:44 am

plodsmeade wrote:
Dave Rowles wrote:I've not managed to overload the inputs on it as yet

you're obviously not trying hard enough

:lol: ... But as I said earlier,
Hugh Robjohns wrote:The mic preamps clip with an input signal at +23dBu...
so you real would have to do something extremely stupid to overload the inputs on the X32.

H
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 27033
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby Dave B » Thu Nov 15, 2018 9:02 am

so you real would have to do something extremely stupid to overload the inputs on the X32.

Hold my drink ...... :bouncy:
User avatar
Dave B
Jedi Poster
Posts: 5486
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Maidenhead
Veni, Vidi, Aesculi (I came, I saw, I conkered)

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby The Elf » Thu Nov 15, 2018 9:57 am

X32 Compact system ordered (with X-Live card, digital stageboxes and personal monitor mixers), but it's going to take a couple of months at least before it arrives. I'll report back when I've had a chance to play.
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 14273
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby Dave B » Thu Nov 15, 2018 8:01 pm

If you’re using the digital stage box thingy then be careful about power and earth. Drop Max a quick line and he’ll explain it - if there’s a power drop below a certain threshold then the system can suffer dropouts. You may never trigger it, but it’s worth being forewarned...
User avatar
Dave B
Jedi Poster
Posts: 5486
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Maidenhead
Veni, Vidi, Aesculi (I came, I saw, I conkered)

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby The Elf » Thu Nov 15, 2018 8:32 pm

Dave B wrote:If you’re using the digital stage box thingy then be careful about power and earth. Drop Max a quick line and he’ll explain it - if there’s a power drop below a certain threshold then the system can suffer dropouts. You may never trigger it, but it’s worth being forewarned...
Ugh! I'll do as you say...

Thanks, mate. :thumbup:
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 14273
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby Sam Spoons » Thu Nov 15, 2018 10:08 pm

I'd say it is unlikely you will suffer a brown out sufficient to cause problems in the UK (on mains power at least) but I stand to be corrected :headbang:
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 12215
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

PreviousNext