You are here

Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Page 5 of 6

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2018 2:57 pm
by MarkPAman
Fare enough Dave.

I see quite a lot of X32 + box in one combination or another, getting run without a UPS & I'd not really head any reports of problems to make me think it a serious issue, but maybe it is. UK mains is usually very stable!

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2018 4:04 pm
by Hugh Robjohns
Tolerance of mains voltage variation is generally much worse on devices with linear power supplies than those with switching mode supplies. The latter are often able to cope with any mains supply from 100-250VAC, whereas a linear supply set for 230VAC may well drop out below 207 if not higher!

H

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2018 5:24 pm
by Sam Spoons
Good point Hugh, the X32 PSU can accept 100-240 VAC so brownouts sufficient to cause problems in Europe should simply never happen short of a full on power cut.

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2018 7:00 pm
by The Elf
Dave B wrote:Mark, it's less to do with 'digital', more to do with the manufacturer skimping on the design. As I understand it, the Midas equivalent doesn't seem to have the same sort of issues. I'll leave you to draw your own conclusions.
Got to be honest. I didn't know that there *was* a Midas equivalent - never occurred to me. I'm happy to take a look if they're compatible with the X32?

Edit: No 8 channel version and no jack inputs. The idea was to avoid the phantom power problem.

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2018 7:55 pm
by Sam Spoons
FWIW (according to 'Musicgroup' of course) the only differences between the Midas and Berry X/M32s are the faders and mic preamps.

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2018 9:21 pm
by James Perrett
Sam Spoons wrote:Good point Hugh, the X32 PSU can accept 100-240 VAC so brownouts sufficient to cause problems in Europe should simply never happen short of a full on power cut.

It isn't always that simple. Some of these power supplies detect the input voltage when first switched on and go into either 230V mode or 120V mode. As I understand it, they can't switch mode after that initial decision has been made so if the voltage later goes too low for the 230V mode you are in trouble.

It is also possible that different batches of the same model could react in different ways.

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 12:59 am
by Sam Spoons
Ah, didn't know that. Mackie refer to their DL 1608 PSU (which is a 'line rat') as a 'world PSU' and I had thought it, and the X32 supply, simply took whatever mains voltage and supplied whatever the device needed.

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2018 1:36 am
by James Perrett
Just had a quick look at the range of worldwide supply voltages and it appears that every country that I could find either lies in the range of 110-127V or 220-240V so a worldwide supply only has to cover those voltage ranges to be worthy of the name.

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

PostPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2018 11:41 am
by AlecSp
Sam Spoons wrote:FWIW (according to 'Musicgroup' of course) the only differences between the Midas and Berry X/M32s are the faders and mic preamps.
Along with the build quality, the warranty, the layout and (for some) the rider-acceptability...

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

PostPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2018 11:53 am
by Sam Spoons
Build quality? Aren't they made in the same factory? Only quoting what Music Group said when they introduced the M32.

The layout is different TBF and that 10 year warrantee is very good (but only fair given the premium price relative to the X32) plus they run 192kHz but that's only firmware I believe.

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

PostPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2018 12:47 pm
by Hugh Robjohns
Sam Spoons wrote:Build quality? Aren't they made in the same factory? Only quoting what Music Group said when they introduced the M32.

I haven't looked into the internal differences in any detail, but they could be built in the same factory but use different quality parts -- especially for things like faders, encoders, displays etc.

...plus they run 192kHz but that's only firmware I believe.

Again, it might be firmware... but it could also be that the less expensive model uses lower cost converters and DSP chips that don't have the speed to operate at 192.

H

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

PostPosted: Thu Nov 22, 2018 1:37 pm
by Sam Spoons
My understanding when the M32 was introduced was that the only hardware differences between the X32 and M32 we're the aforementioned mic preamps and motor faders. Clearly the casework is also different but other than that........ I have asked the question on the MG X32 forum.

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

PostPosted: Mon Nov 26, 2018 1:10 am
by Studio Support Gnome
I work on M32 and X32 , My former studio now uses an M32 which doubles as live hire stock, and my semi regular venue has X32 ....


the software is identical in architecture, meaning you can successfully run X32 shows from M32 software on laptop, which is a bonus as it's lots nicer....

I would take the Midas over the X32 any day, of any week ever, it sounds better, it is faster to operate, and based on recent experience, more stable ,

as far as I am aware they share the core DSP architecture, but the converters are different, (thus the sample rate option differences) the pre-amps are different , and the physical layout and control surface feel are very different....

I can drive either, with equal competence....


but i'd rather have a Digico if I MUST have digital desk

other than that
give me an, Audient, or a Neve and I'm a happy man

not picky or anything.....


Santa are you reading this ??

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

PostPosted: Mon Nov 26, 2018 9:45 am
by Dave B
I spoke to Santa. He says he will consider giving you an Audient or Neve when you no longer own any DDAs. And dumping them in a mate's garage and telling yourself that they don't exist doesn't count!!

:D

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2018 9:53 am
by DGL.
An M32 is an X32 with, PRO faders, PRO series mic pre-amps, better quality input/output stages (inc. AD/DA conversion), better screen (daylight viewable iirc, not higher res) and a nicer 'body'.

Still runs (with the current firmware) at a maximum of 48kHz.