You are here

Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

For performing musicians and engineers: stagecraft, engineering and gear.

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby Wonks » Tue Nov 27, 2018 10:11 am

From the current Midas M32 Product Information Document:

"Open architecture allows for future 96 kHz operation".

"192 kHz ADC and DAC converters for outstanding audio performance".

Rather disingenuous of Music Group to advertise a sample rate that will never ever be achievable with the product, just because the converter chips are capable of being clocked at that speed.
User avatar
Wonks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10881
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Reading, UK
Correcting mistakes on the internet since 1853

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby Sam Spoons » Tue Nov 27, 2018 10:54 am

TBF the only companies that don't 'big up' their products to the max with such claims are (probably, I'm guessing so maybe they do too) the 'big boys' like DigiCo, Avid and Audient et al.
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 12159
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby Wonks » Tue Nov 27, 2018 11:32 am

Hmmm. If that was put on an advert in the UK, the ASA would get it taken down.

If the A/D and D/A chips aren't connected to a 192kHz clock/crystal circuit, then they aren't 192kHz converters (although they could be if used in the right circuit).
User avatar
Wonks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10881
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Reading, UK
Correcting mistakes on the internet since 1853

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby blinddrew » Tue Nov 27, 2018 1:37 pm

"This car is capable* of 192 mph."










* If dropped head first from an aeroplane.**


** Mathematically modeled*** only, no physical testing has been done.


*** I punched some numbers into a calculator until an answer looked good.
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10151
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Tue Nov 27, 2018 1:43 pm

Wonks wrote:Hmmm. If that was put on an advert in the UK, the ASA would get it taken down.

Not so sure about that!

They are happy to allow the completely meaningless phrase "up to 100% successful" on all manner of products, so I can't see them being very bothered about a device which really does have chips capable of 192kHz sample rates, even if they are being used at that rate.

And in any case, some converter chips do up-sample the incoming base-band audio to improve the filter performance and latency. Dunno if that's the case here, but it's often done in hi-fi products.

H
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 26995
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby blinddrew » Tue Nov 27, 2018 1:46 pm

True, and let's not forget the whole broadband industry with their 'up to XX Mb download" claims.
:madas:
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10151
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby Luke W » Tue Nov 27, 2018 2:26 pm

blinddrew wrote:True, and let's not forget the whole broadband industry with their 'up to XX Mb download" claims.
:madas:

They are buggers for it. Something that also throws a lot of people, is that an "Mb" is a Megabit, not Megabyte.
User avatar
Luke W
Regular
Posts: 294
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 1:00 am
Location: Northamptonshire, UK
Techie / Musician Of Sorts

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby hangnef » Mon Dec 10, 2018 2:16 am

The Elf wrote:Nope, that Tascam can't do both at the same time. Very few can.

Interesting, I was considering purchasing this over a X32 Compact. Might have to re-think that.

What is the point of the USB/SD/Input switch on each channel if you can't co-mingle the inputs w/ USB?
hangnef
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 2:14 am

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby The Elf » Mon Dec 10, 2018 9:59 am

hangnef wrote:
The Elf wrote:Nope, that Tascam can't do both at the same time. Very few can.

Interesting, I was considering purchasing this over a X32 Compact. Might have to re-think that.

What is the point of the USB/SD/Input switch on each channel if you can't co-mingle the inputs w/ USB?
I'm not sure what you're picking up on here. My requirement is that the mixer needs to be capable of acting as an audio interface at the same time as recording its inputs internally. Most mixers can't do that. But likely all USB-equipped mixers can mix inputs with USB - which is not what I am referring to.
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 14246
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby hangnef » Mon Dec 10, 2018 3:36 pm

The Elf wrote:
hangnef wrote:
The Elf wrote:Nope, that Tascam can't do both at the same time. Very few can.

Interesting, I was considering purchasing this over a X32 Compact. Might have to re-think that.

What is the point of the USB/SD/Input switch on each channel if you can't co-mingle the inputs w/ USB?
I'm not sure what you're picking up on here. My requirement is that the mixer needs to be capable of acting as an audio interface at the same time as recording its inputs internally. Most mixers can't do that. But likely all USB-equipped mixers can mix inputs with USB - which is not what I am referring to.

Ah, so this is about recording rather than playback. Got it. Your Zoom L12 allowed for that, correct?
hangnef
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 2:14 am

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby The Elf » Mon Dec 10, 2018 7:31 pm

hangnef wrote:
The Elf wrote:
hangnef wrote:
The Elf wrote:Nope, that Tascam can't do both at the same time. Very few can.

Interesting, I was considering purchasing this over a X32 Compact. Might have to re-think that.

What is the point of the USB/SD/Input switch on each channel if you can't co-mingle the inputs w/ USB?
I'm not sure what you're picking up on here. My requirement is that the mixer needs to be capable of acting as an audio interface at the same time as recording its inputs internally. Most mixers can't do that. But likely all USB-equipped mixers can mix inputs with USB - which is not what I am referring to.
Ah, so this is about recording rather than playback. Got it. Your Zoom L12 allowed for that, correct?
Yes, and did a very good job of it too. It has its compromises, as this thread will show, but it is a good device, especially for the money.
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 14246
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Previous